Hemlock by N. J. Layouni, My Book Review

Hemlock (Tales of a Traveler #1)Hemlock by N.J. Layouni
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This time travel book was divine. I loved Martha and I especially loved Vadim, Lord Hemlock. He was amazingly kind to Martha. He found her after she slipped from modern day back to the medieval period. She is of course confused and is attempting to adjust to this time change. Martha appreciates Vadim’s offer of protection. Which at the time can only be provided by marriage.

I also loved Martha’s personality. She retains her grit and her modern (often foul) language even in the most trying situations. She is attracted to a man that is known to be an outlaw, yet he treats her with kindness and compassion. She is drawn to Vadim, she also feels free to speak her mind to him. That is something that he is not accustomed to. The comedy of the situation is wonderfully told by N.J.Layouni. The detail of this book are really great. You feel the strain Martha is under as she sets about to adapt to this very different time.

There is so much to like about this book. The characters pulled me in and the writing is so realistic, I truly felt like I was there with Martha and Vadim. The descriptions of the scenery was so vivid, I could picture the area.

So many twists and turns happen in this book, it is an exciting story of love, hate, and danger. Well worth the read.

There is a sequel and I can not wait to read it. I definitely want to know what happened next to Martha and Vadim. I will not tell the end, but there is a twist that leaves me desperate for more. This author really had me enchanted with this book. I did not want the story to end where it did. I have huge expectations for Wolfsbane, the next book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

