Book Review: Miracles and Conundrums of the Secondary Planets

Miracles and Conundrums of the Secondary PlanetsMiracles and Conundrums of the Secondary Planets by Jacob M. Appel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book has eight amazing short stories. I loved each one. The characters were rich, quirky and interesting.

I loved the first story about an alien from a different planet that has settled in Alabama. He claims to be from Latvia and spouts made up Latvian proverbs. It is great.

One story concerns a mother that is being forced to face her young daughters impending death. It is not maudlin, it is sweet and endearing.

The man who runs into his high school crush struggles with how exactly to treat her. It is a good story. I really liked William.

There are other stories and each one touched me In a special way. Some serious subjects were covered in the stories but they were handled with humor and compassion.

I won this book and agreed to give an honest review. I can honestly say I loved it. Jacob M Appel reminds me of Jack Finney. That great ability to bring characters to life.
I plan on reading more of his work.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

