Book Review: North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

North and SouthNorth and South by Elizabeth Gaskell
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I loved this book. I found it a hard read because it is written as a narrative and as such it had so many details. I loved all the details. The dialect of the Higgin’s family was so alive with personality. I found it hard to read, but made the book even more perfect.

Mr. John Thornton in the book was just so emotional and seeing his heart open on the pages made me love him all the more. He was a good man and had such a way about him that sometimes came across as hard, but we could see his heart.

Margaret Hale was such a great character. She endured all the changes and battled her way through her own emotions and her own heart. I was afraid she was going to lose her chances as she tossed them about almost care-freely. She was young and out of her element so perhaps she had some excuses.

This book had so much emotion and heart, I was fairly shaking at the end. I had just recently found the BBC Mini series and had fallen in love with the characters and reading made me understand and love them even more.

I learned so much from this book about many different subjects, I learned about unions and how each side sees issues like strikes. I learned how strict the times were on a young woman and how easily it was to slip. I got so much out of this book. It is now a favorite of mine.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

