Book Review: Dolly: My Life and Other Unfinished Business by Dolly Parton

Dolly: My Life and Other Unfinished BusinessDolly: My Life and Other Unfinished Business by Dolly Parton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I entered into this buddy read with no preconceived notions about Dolly Parton. I have listened to her sing and I enjoyed her songs. I have seen her moves and enjoyed them as well. Other than knowing she was born in the mountains and had a lot of brothers and sisters, I didn’t know too much about her, or her journey through her life and career.

Listening to My Life and Other Unfinished Business has been so enlightening. Dolly Parton is open and bluntly willing to speak her mind. She talks about the hard times in her life while she was growing up poor in the mountains of Tennessee. She talks about friendships that have ended abruptly and those that have lasted her entire life.

Her relationship with God is not preachy it is very uplifting. She has a real relationship with him, but she is open and loves people that do not believe exactly as she does. She is willing to share her beliefs and they are very important to her.

She talks about her relationship with her husband and addresses many of the rumors and gossip that they have faced in their marriage. She talks of her husband with respect and love.

Humor is a large part of her personality. She sees great humor in herself and her life. She gives joy and finds joy in what she does.

There is so much more to this woman than I ever knew. I am glad I listened to this audio book. It has enriched my life.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Dolly: My Life and Other Unfinished Business by Dolly Parton

  1. I believe it was written in the nineties. It is worth reading. If you like audio books it is on YouTube. She narrates the book herself so that is a bonus point to the Audio book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

