First Week of Writing the New Book

It has not even  been a full week since I started on a new book. Lets break it down. Shall we?  Before day one, a writer friend of mine on Goodreads named J sent me a message and said, “Vicki get writing” So with that bit of encouragement I decided, I would!

Day One, I sat looking at the Word screen thinking, First word, first word, first word. That went on for about six hours. Alternating looking at Word and Richard Armitage I started thinking about my day and suddenly a picture formed in my head.

Desktop Word

Quickly I typed it into the page and realized, I liked it. I liked the colors and the pictures that it was drawing.  So I added a little more, then a person came to me.  Yes, I knew this person, She was easy to picture as well.  So I set about introducing her.

Next thing I knew, it was six a.m.Time for people to stat milling about the house getting ready for work and school.  I had been writing all night.  I felt great, energized even.  I had written about two thousand words and I had a clear idea of this story.

This was the first major writing I have done in quite a while. I write book reviews and love writing them.  Nothing pleases me more than sharing good books with people. But this was different in my head. It felt good.

Day Two, I sat at the keyboard and picked right up.  Everything was coming freely and smoothly until one character asked the other a question.  Suddenly everything was quiet, blank, stark white in my head.  Oh No! No, No, No, This can’t be happening.  I don’t know the answer.  The character sat in his chair staring into space while I thought and thought of an answer.  He sat there staring for two days. Two days of me staring at him as we both ruminated on the question.  That one darn innocent question.

Day four, I sat down fresh from a full night’s sleep. Coffee in my cup doing it’s job by bringing my sleepy brain to life.  I opened Word pulled up my story and took a big deep breath.  I opened a new tab on the browser and brought up Goodreads.  That seemed like the perfect thing to do. I started chatting with a friend.  I broke down admitting I was stuck. Stuck at 3462 words.

We chatted and I started describing my dilemma. He asked a few questions which made me think about the character. He asked his name and then let me know the origin of that last name. It was brilliant.  He mentioned that the name of the character could be Swedish or Norwegian and that they were usually farmers or ranchers.  We talked on for a while then suddenly I knew, I just knew who he was and what he did. heck I even knew where he lived and what his house looked like. I had my answer. I had more than my answer, I suddenly with clarity knew his history. It was like a light turning on in my brain. I looked over at the word document and began writing again.

My character stopped staring and animatedly started telling his story.  It was a huge Aha moment.   He talked so much I was thinking that this story would take place in one setting,  in one sitting.  I finally had to make him stop talking and let someone else speak. It was lovely.  I realized that I was ready for chapter two and I was satisfied with this day’s work.

Day five,  A research and writing day and it felt good to know what direction this story was heading. If there is one thing I love, it is research. So this was a fun filled day of gathering information. Chapter two flew onto the screen, the plot was beginning to take shape and I realized I had only written for three days, but I had worked on this project for a full five days.

After a long dry creative spell this was like a full body massage with delicious smelling lotions. It was invigorating and satisfying. I felt very alive and excited with this new phase of writing.  Now chapter three is coming along, introducing more of the story one word at a time and I realized, I needed to read a book and write a review.  So I did without guilt, and at 7964 words, I have to admit that all is well with my world this week.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “First Week of Writing the New Book

  1. I so much relate to the way you write and we definitely share that feeling both the one of feeling so fulfilled and amazing because you wrote something, wanting so much to write and not come up with anything for so long and then surprising yourself when you finally do, am confident you will write a very good book!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for visiting my site and especially for saying such encouraging words. I read that you want to write too. You will write once you have completed medical school. What an awesome career for you. I read some of your posts and you have a beautiful way with words. Keep going!

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

