Book Review: The Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith

The Reflections of Queen Snow WhiteThe Reflections of Queen Snow White by David Meredith
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I wasn’t sure what to expect with this book. I knew that it was going to be about Snow White, but I wasn’t sure what else could be said about her. I have seen the Disney movie and I have read the fairy tale. She is found by Prince Charming, then he kisses her, and then they get married. I knew the story backwards and forwards. Or so I thought.

This story did not start with the Snow White as a beautiful baby, it started with her older, much older than that. This story starts out with Queen Snow White sad and heartbroken. The queen is beyond sad missing her prince Charming. She can no longer find solace in the places that they shared and the places where they were happiest. Their bed no longer is a sanctuary, it is cold and lonely. Her pain is beautifully written. You feel the abject loneliness that she feels.

While Snow White is grieving she finds the famous magic mirror that her Step Mother was so fond of. the magic mirror takes her back through her real memories. The memories that are chock full of the emotions and honesty of the moment.

The telling of this tale by David Meredith is so vivid. You realize exactly what had taken place in the castle after her Father’s death and while she is growing up in the care of her step mother. There is more events than we were privy to before.

With each memory she is facing more and more internal demons. The reader can understand all of her decisions and her place in the kingdom. You might not agree with her, but you see her reason.

The mirror could cause extreme pain, but it also brought clarity. Sometimes the mirror comes across as maniacally cruel, then at other times it seems that it is on a mission to help.

Each chapter changes the way I feel about Snow White and the mirror. Until I am filled with Awe and genuine love for her. By the middle of the book you come to realize that Snow White and Charming did not live happily ever after, but oh my gosh they sure lived!

I had to take a moment to compose myself before I wrote this because I was so emotional about the entire book. This story will live in my heart as an addendum to the fairy tale. I am going to get a copy for my daughters so that they can see what I found to be so beautiful in The Reflections of Queen Snow White.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

