A Wandering Mind Allows For Other Activities

Over the weekend I have written 9000 words in my goal of 30,000 in Camp NaNoWriMo. For just four days in, I feel that is a pretty good start.

Hello Monday!

This morning, after addressing the dogs pressing needs, I cranked up the computer and pulled up the project’s document. I have decided to change the tense to present instead of past, so off I go making those changes on the 50 pages I have written so far. It is going along swimmingly. In the first few hours I am on page twelve and I have added in 647 new words to the story. I like it,I feel confident. I am pleased with my efforts.

Smug

Sure this is typical behavior for me. I keep going back to the beginning quite often making small, and occasionally some pretty large changes. I do not call it editing, I call it perfecting the character. That makes me feel better about it anyway. Obsessive is such a labeling term.

This morning while making changes, correcting the tenses and looking at the pictures I have bookmarked for inspiration,  I decided that it would be simpler to have everything in one secure location. Yes, plan two for the day. I mean, how long can this take?

Meanwhile over at the real estate website,  I attempted to copy the picture of the house I felt inspired to let Rachel live in. The Webmasters have made it where one picture is not available without saving an entire website. I don’t have time for that!

Instead, I found a creative way to save that picture. It did indeed involve a screen print, an email and a photo editor. I am not on a strict a schedule here, Am I?

I had this rogue thought, it is, after all 8:15 am. My moring is getting away from me,  I must address it in an aggressive manner. After I get that picture saved on my hard drive, I realize, this is Pinterest worthy!

pinphoto

With nothing but time on my hands and a deadline of 27 days. Pshh, I’ve got time!

Pulling up Pinterest, I start adding in the photos that I had saved of my inspirations. Oh yes,  I am feeling very clever now. Pinterest! Vicki,  you are a genius! I am basking in my own cleverness. I need another smug cat picture in this location.

What a wonderful rogue thought this has turned out to be. At this point  my Pinterest account now has one additional board and inspirational bits and pieces to build the complete picture of Rachel Payton’s life.

Oh yeah, my rewriting and word count are looming ahead of me. Oh no!

Is it already noon?

Deadline! deadline!  That one simple word keeps bouncing around in my brain.

What would any logical self-respecting person do?  Why, write a new blog post,  of course.

8 thoughts on “A Wandering Mind Allows For Other Activities

  1. Happy Monday to you too. I chuckled throughout this read. I sense a healthy humorous bone on your person.

    Oh! I just gotta ask…does your cat (assuming) smile at all your blog visitors like that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That cat best represents my smugness about all of my cleverness of my Monday. 🙂 I have an overgrown humorous bone, You should have seen it poking out when I was a tiny girl. It looked like a monkey on my shoulder.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

