Book Review: A Stone in the Sea by A.L. Jackson

A Stone in the Sea (Bleeding Stars, #1)A Stone in the Sea by A.L. Jackson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This book really has an intense plot. There are so many half truths and deflections it is a wonder that Baz and Shea can even look at each other.
They not only look at each other, they ignite each other. From the first look there is something strong pulling them together.

Then we have the secrets, fears, regrets and more secrets. I loved Baz and Shea and especially Kallie.

I could immediately saw that Baz wanted to be liked or wanted only for himself, not his stage persona. That made total sense to me. Where I had the problem, I did not understand Shea’s reasoning in telling him that huge lie. That lie that hovered like a big cloud over her head.I felt it was going to lead to a big problem. I have to say, I told you so at this point.

All of the characters were very human and that allowed me to give Shea the benefit of a doubt as to the logic in her secrecy. The friends, well band members were really well written also. They had aggravation and compassion down cold. I enjoyed when they showed up with Baz. They brought a lot of color to the story.

My main confession on this review is that I almost gave it a four because it was such a cliffhanger and those stress me out so much. I stayed awake to finish the book and it did not end, it just quit. Man, those cliffhangers are a bitter pill for me to swallow.

As to the content, I can truthfully admit that I loved the writing, the characters and the story line. Where it ended, I can totally see where a complete book could be made with just telling the story from that point.

As an update: It has been a few days since I read it and I am not quite as annoyed with the cliffhanger, but I am desperate to know how it ends. I will probably make myself pick up the second book in the series very soon. I know it will be good. It just better not be a cliffhanger! I concede that the rest of the story certainly deserves to be told.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: A Stone in the Sea by A.L. Jackson

Leave a Reply

