Book Review: The Paid Companion by Amanda Quick

The Paid CompanionThe Paid Companion by Amanda Quick
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is the amazing beautiful story of Arthur Lancaster, Earl of St. Merryn and Elenora Lodge. They are brought together in a ruse by the Earl as a way to secretly search for a murderer.

The Earl of St. Merryn needed someone to keep the worrisome mothers away while he tried to locate a killer. You know how those marriage minded mothers can be to a single attractive Earl. Arthur puts the idea to Elenora as a matter of business. He convinces her to pretend that there was a betrothal between the two. It did indeed seem to be the perfect cover for him.

Their story was so beautifully told. Elenora had been laid low by the death of her step-father and there was little hope for her. I adored Arthur, he was so sweet and he did have a secret passionate nature that Elenora brought out.

The story was really great to watch unfold. Two such likable characters made for a wonderful read. Elenora was blooming into a wonderful witty, and smart woman right under his eyes. He had no idea she as so bright. She took the Ton by storm.

Then there is the murderer. He is featured in this book and you know exactly what he has in mind, and why. There are many dangers in old London and Amanda Quick, can tell them better than anyone.

The story is so well written that I was just swept away by it all. I know it is not a new book, but it is still a favorite of mine. I first found Amanda Quick after reading and falling in love with the writing of Jayne Ann Krentz. I was so excited to find she also wrote under the name Amanda Quick. I immediately checked out all of the Amanda Quick books. I was not disappointed.

Today, I am rejoicing that there is a new book being released 4/19/16 by Amanda Quick called ‘Til Death Do Us Part. It is another historical Romantic suspense. The plot sounds wonderful. I just know I am going to love this one too. Oh, be still my fan-girling heart!

Getting back to the Paid Companion, I just want you to know that Arthur and Elenora are two people that I just loved reading about and regretted reaching the end of the book. I wanted them to come back and let me read more about them. This is a very satisfying book!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

