Book Review: Story of a Secret Heart by Cassi Ellen

Story of a Secret HeartStory of a Secret Heart by Cassi Ellen
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Reading the book, Story of a Secret Heart was a unique read for me. The topic was not of your typical romance, mystery, or regular non-fiction genre. I liked the style and I liked the way the story unfolded. I was intrigued by the book, about Cassi, a woman that was not quite in control. In fact, she was most of the time, quite out of control. I know the story is true and so that makes it even more intriguing. I did think she might have drank and partied to excess and I worried about her health.

She is so well traveled and experienced. Even though I felt that she made some kind of flighty and dangerous decisions, I was following everything up until the last sentence. Then I was floored. I did not see the end coming.

Some of her escapades border on dangerous and I suppose the twenty somethings and the thirty somethings do live like that more than they did when I was thirty. The writing was not graphic or uncomfortable to read, but the situations Cassie found herself in were, a bit over the top for me. But I am older than Cassi and of a different mindset.

But the way it was presented was interesting and kept me reading. Really isn’t that what a book is supposed to do. Cassi is a fun, lively, sometimes confident and interesting person and she certainly lived in this book. I shared her pain at the first of the book. To be cheated on and dumped by Guy, a long term boyfriend is a painful event. Then to find Ben, a totally different type of man from Guy. Ben was a man that is totally interested, obsessed and possessive about her. I was happy for her.

Some of her adventures were way out of the norm from what I assume goes on in relationships, but again, I am old school. From that point on I worried about her throughout the rest of the book.

I can’t resist saying that I totally want to read what happens next. Now that I have come to grips with that last sentence. It is a funny, rocky, totally interesting and emotional book. Cassi also has an adorable relationship with her cat that I loved reading about. I also loved reading the quotes at the end of each chapter. They were prefect for the chapter and they were very enlightening. I can recommend it as a well written story that will really keep you involved. As I said, I am ready for book two.

The book is available on Kindle and through KindleUnlimited on Amazon

View all my reviews

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Story of a Secret Heart by Cassi Ellen

  1. I absolutely love your review 🙂 and I thank you so much for reading my book and giving your honest feedback. Hearing feedback from a different age group is invaluable to me (it means so much) and I got quite emotional reading your review (especially the bit about how you worried about me….I worried about me too at the time!).
    Thank you again and keep up with the wonderful reviews 🙂 x

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Hi Cassie,
    Thank you for the opportunity to review your book.

    It was really good, so I was pleasantly surprised.

    Your story reads like a Jackie Collins novel, sizzling, sexy, colourful and at times downright dangerous!

    You’ve got more balls than me girlfriend, well written!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

