AudioBook Review: Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

Maybe Not (Maybe, #1.5)

Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Story *****
Performance *****
Overall *****

Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover, is another delightful story told from a male point of view. I enjoy that POV more than I expected to. I found it refreshing getting into a guys head with the whole romance, love thing.
Warren and two Brothers that were all roommates get an unexpected new room mate. The new room mate is not only a woman, but she is Bridgette Cox,and Warren finds her cold and mean. She has a secret that one of the roommate brothers know and has offered her a place to stay while figuring out all the details of the secret. Every time they speak it was with bitterness and anger.

Warren tried to break Bridgette in with his usual pranks that seems to backfire on him when she doesn’t react. He is intrigued. He finds himself fighting with her and then fantasizing about her at night. He learns this secret about her by overhearing a phone call and it drives him crazy. So he sets about to uncover more about that secret. His preoccupation about discovering her secret makes everyone in the house curious about his new obsession. He is not discreet with his new obsession.

Finally Warren and Bridgette find a way to interact with each other. It is hot and steamy and unexpected. The hard part is that they have to try to find a way to live in the same apartment together during the day too.

The pace is fast and the dialog is fun and explosive.

There are several twists and turns to the story that keep it fresh and interesting. When another female roommate comes into the apartment it causes a lot of annoyance, but one of the funniest pranks ever.

When we meet some of Warren’s family, I laughed the entire time. I especially liked the four year old. He was great.

Colleen Hoover has a way with a story making it exciting and real. This book is my second and it is another great read by her. Each book I read by her, makes me want more.

I actually listened to this on Audible with the terrific narration by Jason Carpenter. This was the same narrator for Finding Cinderella and I loved his voice in both books. He brings humor to the story with the perfect amount of inflection and sarcasm when called for. His voice brought the story blazingly to life.

I am giving this book a 5 star on all fronts. The narration, the story and everything in general was to me worth a full 5 stars.

The book is available in Paperback, in Kindle Edition, and on Audible at Amazon

View all my reviews

9 thoughts on “AudioBook Review: Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

  1. Sounds pretty interesting! We listen to a lot of audiobooks, but stick to the classics and re-reads. I’m not sure this would be of interest to my children, but I like your take on it! Makes it sound fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I didn’t think about that. It isn’t all that explicit, but it isn’t for kids. There is some language in there. Maybe I should put some sort of rating system like Movies have. 🙂 I didn’t think about that.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

