Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have just finished reading A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas and I was floored by the depth of the story. The little hunter girl that did whatever it took to take care of her family. When she killed a lone wolf, she had no idea what she had done. Feyre the nineteen year old human was then whisked away by a large beast into a different world from her own. To pay the price for her murder.

Feyre is held in this fairy manor with the shapeshifting Tamlin. She finds that even though she wants to escape and return to her family she finds herself accepting her fate and adjusting to her new life. With painting and lunches with Tamlin and Lucian to keep her occupied, she found herself drawn to the High Elf, Tamlin.

Lucian is a great character, he is loyal to Tamlin and he is suspicious of Feyre. But he too has depths that only come to light slowly over time. I enjoyed their dinners together. I enjoyed their discourse over dinner.

Tamlin protects her and keeps her in his lovely home even when things are confusing and scary for the brave strong girl. There are secrets and mysterious events that she doesn’t understand. Feyre is curious and keeps finding herself in situations and places where she does not understand.

The writing was beautiful. I can visualize the fairies, their gardens, and their dark ceremonies. The beauty of Tamlin in his gold mask that can never be removed. The kingdom cursed by an unknown evil a blight on the entire world. A threat to the human world also. I pictured her life before in a hovel with sisters and a father that depended on her too much.

When she is not privy to the truth of the blight and she sets out to find the missing population, her search turns her into a warrior again. Fayre the warrior, a person that will face magic, horror and fear with a brave face. I could not put this down. It is a huge book with so much action and detail. I have to admit this is my first book about High Elf, faeries, and shapeshifters. I loved it. It was more than I expected. There are challenges, riddles and terrible choices and consequences that are faced and wow, they are captivating. I was captivated by the entire book. The world Sarah J. Maas created drew me in with its beauty and intensity.

There is a second book in this series and I am going to start it now. I am looking forward to seeing what happens to this world next. There are still some things I want to know. I am glad I tried this Fantasy genre. I found a lot to love about it.

The first book in this series A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas is available in many formats. Available in hardback, paperback,Kindle Edition, and as an Audible Audioboook through Amazon

View all my reviews

7 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I was on the fence about this book until I read your review. I’ve heard it’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling, which I can clearly see now from your review. Interesting spin on the original. I’m leery of how long her books are though. It seems like a lot of filler in them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

