Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2)A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

As I finished reading this second book in the series, I was bitterly reminded that it would be a year before I knew what would happen next. This second book was amazing with love, hate, conflict, and deviousness. Sometimes you think you know one thing and actually you know only one small bit of what is going on.

Feyre is so complex. She has faced Amarantha and won while she became less enamoured with the prison she found herself living in. When she finds the opportunity to blossom she totally blooms. She finds that she did not like her prison of the perfect fairyland castle and the doldrum of painting and waiting to be included in anything that might stimulate her mind.

When Rhys comes to her and takes her with him for the agreed upon time, it all turns amazing. Rhys shines as a wonderful, kind, considerate, harsh, noble, High Fae. He captured my heart and then with the banter, the joy, and the sexiness he captured Feyre’s.

Rhys is not the fae that we expected under the mountain. He is so much more. I can not tell you how engaged I was throughout the entire book as Feyre and Rhys became closer and closer. Always learning, teaching, and sharing these deadly adventures with only the best intentions as a reason. The coming wars were looming and making things tense and strained and Feyre took it upon herself to learn to be the best part of their group as she could. She shined in her willingness to be a strong member of his court. Not a plaything and a pretty bauble in his court as she had been treated while in Tamlin’s Court of the Spring.

I admit I liked Tamlin in the first book as he sheltered her and took care of her family in such an over the top manner. I started feeling that he was not quite the best person as he sat beside Amarantha and did nothing to sooth Feyre as she was tortured and tormented under the mountain. It hurt when he became obsessive and controlling. I liked the way Rhys treated Feyre while under the mountain. Rhys protected Feyre while Tamlin did nothing. He soothed her hurts and attended her wounds while Tamlin did nothing. I left book 1 not exactly liking Tamlin.

This book repaired all that hurt. It repaired my somewhat bruised heart and brought in the big gun, Rhysand. Rhysand, the high Fae of the Nightmare court. The high Fae that showed Feyre what true kindness looked like. It looked like freedom, not a prison. He also showed her that she had it within her to be fierce, kind and heroic. Fayre thrived learning to fight, to become strong, to become a protector.

This is a must read for anyone that loves a powerful story that features war, peace, love and hate. I can not wait until the next book comes out. I mean the stage has been set for the next book and I am ready for it now. Yes, only a week ago, I was an unbeliever in all things magic and Fae, now I am a convert.

This is one of those books that hold on to you for a while after you finish it. I am still going over bits and pieces now that they all fall into place.

Well written, with vivid images and wonderful conversations. There is humor interspersed with teasing banter. There is a group of friends that work together for good. Secretly working together for good and Feyre thrives in this environment. I have found myself crying at several scenes in this book with my heart wounded and broken for the people I was falling in love with. The characters all are amazingly well written so complex and so complete. Their personalities clear and unwavering. Now I wait for book 3.

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #2) by Sarah J. Maas is available in hardback, paperback, on Kindle and through Audible on Amazon
A Court of Thorns and Roses book 1 is also available in those formats on Amazon

View all my reviews

7 thoughts on “Book Review: A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

