July 1, 2016 Starts Camp NaNoWriMo

CNW_Participant

Today is the day to face the question I have been weighing in my mind. Did I want to make myself stop feeling sorry about losing my muse and get back to writing.  I think she would have wanted me to.  My little muse always liked to stand with her front feet on my right arm as I type away at the computer waiting for time to tell me to get to bed.  So this is my first NaNoWriMo with a broken heart, a missing muse and no timekeeper.

But I did it. I got up as soon as I realized it was officially July 1, 2016 and I opened the Camp NaNoWriMo page and wrote a message to my cabin mates about my expectations and plans. Then I progressed to my writing app and started writing. My mind free to write anything it wanted. No pressure to have a certain genre in mind or a set character in place.

I admit I am a pantser. I write for the moment and let it build around me. Sometimes I like where it goes, sometimes it is tripe. When it is tripe, I try to figure what made it such and plow on. That’s the fun part of Camp NaNoWriMo, you focus on your word count. You keep the bad and edit it, or trash it in August.

So here I sit at 3:34 am already  1392 words in, with a goal of 1613 per day to finish my 50,000 words on schedule.  The mantra going through my head, “I can do this, I can do this. I am going to have fun, I can do this!”

Beau is sleeping next to me. He only goes to bed when I do, so he is probably going to be droopy and red eyed this month. I am sure he will be silently wondering why I, “the grown up in the group” have to  be told when to go to bed.  He may have already been wondering that for a couple of weeks now. I am going to see if he steps up to the plate and becomes the timekeeper around here or if we just get to run amok with constant insomnia and not a sleeping pill in sight.

So today, I am off to the races with a little bit of a mean spirited story that allows me to say snarky things through my characters mouth.  It is just four pages long at this point. I will decide later if it is tripe or if it is worth finishing. right now it is just fun.

For now, I just need to focus on those extra 221 words I need before I can call it a day, and only 18 more hours left of the Camp NaNoWriMo word count day in which to do it.

“I can do this, I can do this. I am going to have fun, I can do this!”

 

2 thoughts on “July 1, 2016 Starts Camp NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

