AudioBook Review: Awoken by Sarah Noffke

Awoken (The Lucidites, #1)Awoken by Sarah Noffke
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I listened to this on Audible as an audiobook and I also read along with the eBook. I finally put the book down and just finished listening to the Narrator.

For a person that is supposed to be a savior, Roya Stark is kind of cranky and annoyingly enough, she whines a lot. The story was interesting and the descriptions are vivid and come to life in the telling. I just did not enjoy it as much as I hoped to.

I get that she was immature and was given a huge task, but boy, was she vocal about it all.

As this is not my typical genre I gave the writing the high score and will only say that it was not exactly my cup of tea. The protagonist is a 16 year old girl drowns as she sleeps and has premonitions at night. She is called to be part of a society, the Lucidites that needs her skills to combat Zhuang. Zhuang is their enemy and they have been watching over Roya all her life in secret. There was a lot of drama and even a romantic element in the book. It was action packed and fast paced.

Saying that I will certainly give other books and stories a chance from Sarah Noffke. The writing is really well done. It was just uncomfortable for me to listen to and red her whining and complaining. I know she is only 16 so I should have cut her some slack. I just wasn’t able to.

In review of the performance, I give that a 5. Elizabeth Klett has a great way with narrations. She was the thing that kept me going. In fact I will try to find more books narrated by her and listen. Her voice is pleasant and full of variety.

The premise of this book is good, the writing is good, I just could not get into the story like I love doing. Other than the negative feelings I had for Roya, the book is good. I just wanted to love it more than I was able to. I seem to be the minority, so I accept that it was probably more me than Sarah Noffke.

The book, AudioBook, and free Kindle Unlimited eBook can all be found by clicking the links below.

View all my reviews

16 thoughts on “AudioBook Review: Awoken by Sarah Noffke

      1. OMG – any writer would love it. People are given a weird word and everyone makes up their own definition to fool the others – so there’s some talent in writing the answers. Then everyone guesses what the right answer is… you win points if someone picks your answer. It gets quite amusing. I was remembering “Luddites” and a crazy definition for a word I never heard of – I think that’s what Lucidites reminded me of. You would love that game.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

