AudioBook Review: The Sick house by Ambrose Ibsen

 

Sick house

  • The Sick House : The Ulrich Files, Book 1
  • Listening Length: 6 hours and 48 minutes
  • Program Type: Audiobook
  • Version: Unabridged
  • Publisher: Ambrose Ibsen
  • Audible.com Release Date: April 4, 2016
  • Whispersync for Voice: Ready
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01DPRMM50

Book Blurb:

Dr. Siegfried Klein has vanished on a mysterious pilgrimage to an abandoned infirmary in the ghost-town of Moonville. The locals in the surrounding areas are tight-lipped, hostile to outsiders. Local legend has it that the old Sick House is packed with spirits, none of them friendly, and that to set foot in it is to enter Hell itself.

Enter Harlan Ulrich, private investigator and skeptic.

Traveling to the site, the detective begins the long process of separating truth from grisly local myth, and during his investigation stumbles upon certain frightful evidence that tries his nerve. He wants to find the doctor in one piece and weathers the hostilities of the locals even as their stories keep him up at night. But the longer he spends in the ghost town of Moonville, the more he feels the influence of something sinister in the shuttered infirmary.

When finally the truth is revealed and the infirmary’s sordid past comes to light, will Ulrich manage to escape with his life? Join him as he braves the myth-shadowed unknown and seeks out the missing doctor in The Sick House, a full-length novel of paranormal suspense and horror.

Ratings:

  • Overall: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  • Narration: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  • Story: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My Review:

I give the book a solid 5 stars because it was chilling and the mystery is consuming.

This Horror story is grimly good. It is creepy and hearing it through my headphones, those voices ringing in my ears? Intense!

The narrator, Jake Urry, has the best voices for the characters. the men all sound sinister when they should and sound intelligent when called for.Jake has a large amount of accents. I love his depiction of women. Such emotion and he is able to capture all ages of the characters. For narration I can only give 5 stars.

The writing is great. The wording keeps you involved. Some of the descriptions were so involved, I could almost hear his chair creaking as he swiveled back and forth in thought. I loved it.

Harlan Ulrich is a private investigator and he is not exactly comfortable when he is hired to find a missing doctor. Dr. Siegfried Klein, a doctor that was last seen heading to the supposedly haunted hospital known as the Sick House.

Harlan is overwhelmed when he sneaks into the old hospital looking for signs that Dr. Klein had been there. While in that abandoned building he starts to feel things, evil and dangerous things.

The things he experiences are not human and they are not solid. As he investigates he comes into contact with the towns people which are full of dire warnings and an unwillingness to confide in him.

When he starts digging even deeper, he is able to find so much more about the Sick House than he expected. You can count on twists, turns and astounding revelations. What surprised me was that it was not a gruesome book. It was scary but not full of graphic horror. Thank goodness I have to say. I was not quite prepared for a lot of grizzly action.

This was a wonderfully crafted book. The story was full of haunting events. This was really one good book to listen to on Audio books. The narrator brought the fear and eeriness to life. This is my second book narrated by Jake Urry and I can say it is not going to be my last. I loved the way he performs each character. He has a British accent, but he was able to do several american accents just wonderfully.

I highly recommend this book if you like ghosts, spirits, mysteries and descriptive narration. I have not read anythign by Ambrose Ibsen before, but I will be looking for books by him after this one. It was just that good. I like that the book was not gory and morbid. Ambrose Ibsen set out to create a setting, an emotion, a tone and he succeeded. Excellent audio book.

The book The Sick House by Ambrose Ibsen is available through KindleUnlimited and Audiobook by clicking the links below.

Amazon  |  Audible

 

13 thoughts on “AudioBook Review: The Sick house by Ambrose Ibsen

  1. I was surprised at the new genre. Excellent review. Are these audio’s streamed on a device? I’m not familiar at all with the kindles. My eyes have gotten harder to read, but would be totally worth it if audio was part of the option.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Audible is an amazon company and they have so many books available. I love listening to these books. I was recommended this audio book so I took a chance. I have never read or listened to a real horror book so I was a little surprised that I liked it. but it was not gross and grizzly. Audible provides a download that plays them. If you want to test a book out, look on you tube and find an older book to listen to. some people like listening other do not. hehe try it before you buy it

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Woah! This sounds so interesting, I love books like this one! Its definitely added on my reading list 👌 thanks for sharing – Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

