AudioBook Review: New Release: Medicine for the Dead by Ambrose Ibsen

Medicine

  • Listening Length: 5 hours and 32 minutes
  • Program Type: Audiobook
  • Version: Unabridged
  • Publisher: Ambrose Ibsen
  • Audible.com Release Date: July 13, 2016
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01IC5I48E

 

Book Blurb:

The Spirits of Exeter House are Restless

Facing tough times, private investigator Harlan Ulrich takes a job looking after a historic downtown building as a favor to an old acquaintance who’s out on business. Settling into the elegant Exeter House for a week-long stay, Ulrich’s apartment is beautifully furnished and situated on the top floor, giving him a great view of the city. At first, he thinks it a wonderful opportunity. He’s got plenty of coffee, good books to read and the whole building to himself.

At least, that’s what he’s been told.

It turns out there are others there, in the seemingly empty building. Dark entities that lurk in its shadowed corners.

During his first night, strange things begin to occur. As he makes his nightly rounds, ensuring that the old building is free of intruders, Ulrich finds the place transformed. By day, Exeter House is a treasured local institution. By night, it crawls with the frightening souls of the hateful dead. Tormented nightly by a number of mysterious specters, it’s all the investigator can do to hold onto his sanity.

Can Harlan Ulrich tap into the building’s dreadful past and quell the spirits that walk its halls, or will he lose his mind trying? Join him as he seeks answers in Medicine for the Dead, a full-length novel of supernatural terror and suspense.

Medicine for the Dead is the second book in the Ulrich Files series by Ambrose Ibsen.

Ratings:

Overall: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Narration: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

Story: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My Review:

This Audio book has just been released and I am so glad I was able to get a copy. The writing is vivid and once again detailed and engrossing.  The story is so gripping I listened to it in one sitting. I admit I stopped long enough to walk my dog. Once he had taken care of his business I was right back at it.

Medicine for the Dead: The Ulrich Files, Book 2 is an Occult horror story that will keep you guessing and wondering what exactly is going on.
The detail wraps you up and create pictures that are clear and vivid images of what he describes. Not going to say too much, but I can say there are some odd, weird creatures in this book.

The protagonist is really a great guy. He is a stress eater, a teetotaler, and a Private Investigator that struggles with money.  I love his conversations with himself. He is his own worse critic. I get tickled at him when he starts that negative talk.  He is a huge Sinatra fan, you can’t beat that!

When money is running very low, Harlan Ulrich takes a job as a babysitter of an old empty apartment building. Not exactly a crack job for a PI, but the money was right.  When he arrives it seems like a cush job, but things start to change the first night. Harlan has to either run away like I would or figure out what the heck was going on. There are strange noises, and footsteps in that empty building.

Sometimes I get tickled at how Harlan reacts to the creepiness that wanders around breathing wheezily with long claws.  He is being treated like the type of person he despises most. He is being treated like he is the problem. I wasn’t sure what was going to happen from one moment to the next.

This is my second book by Ambrose Ibsen and I was not disappointed. Again it is not a hatchet carrying blood pouring story. But it is a horror in all the ways that matter. My heart has been pounding for hours.

Now I can talk about the narration,  to me, it is just perfect. The voices by Jake Urry are just so spot on. He has a full range of voices that he uses to convey the spirit of the story. The characters in the story all have distinct accents and tones. I enjoyed listening to his voices.  Jake Urry is really an asset to the production.

About the author:

Ambrose Ibsen is a bit of a mystery. This was the most I could find out on his Amazon author’s page.:

“Once upon a time, a young Ambrose Ibsen discovered a collection of ghost stories on his father’s bookshelf. He was never the same again.

Apart from horror fiction, he enjoys good coffee, brewed strong.”

I can not even find a photo to share.  So this means to me that  the author is much a mystery as the stories he writes.  Here’s to more information in the future because I do plan on reading more of his works. When I read or listen to it, I review it and probably post it here.

What information I was able to glean follows, he has had 13 books published in the last 2 years. Ambrose Ibsen is ranked #36 on Amazon as an author of Horror. His website is on WordPress and is titled  The Cellar. He is active on his author page on Facebook and is polite and nice to his followers there.

 

About the Narrator:

Jake
Meet Jake Urry

I was able to find a lot more about the narrator than for the author.  Jake Urry has a collection of seven Audio books to his credit. I will link a great interview that was just posted on the thirteenth of July at The Audio books Reviewer.com. Here is one snippet from that interview:

“How do you flesh out how a specific character will sound?:
I just get a picture in my head of the character and read the line as them. With accents I might work on it for a while but usually it just comes out as I imagine the character, and I refine it before the final recording.”

You can also find Jake on Facebook where he is personable and promotes his works. He shares his reviews there and he gets rave reviews.  His voice is perfect for thrillers and horror stories.  Not to pigeon hole him, but his chilling voices are outstanding. He has a way with all characters that he speaks for. His American and British accents are really great. He is also an actor, her has not been narrating for a long time. He is relatively new to the business.

 

Recommendation:

I am so happy to recommend this to anyone that loves Horror. The horror is there, but it is not messy.  It is a haunting, an occult type of horror. Either way, it is scary and good.

Where to Find:

You can pick up Medicine for the Dead by  Ambrose Ibsen in Kindle, KindleUnlimited and on audio book by clicking the links below.

Amazon|  Audible

2 thoughts on “AudioBook Review: New Release: Medicine for the Dead by Ambrose Ibsen

Leave a Reply

