Book Review: Classics Edition: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

Great ExpectationsGreat Expectations by Charles Dickens

  • Paperback: 322 pages
  • Publisher: Wisehouse Classics (April 3, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9176372375
  • ISBN-13: 978-9176372371
  • My Rating:

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    I have read this several times and seen several versions of the movie. The book always wins with me. The book always captures the heart of Pip. Pip and his heart are what make this story so beautiful. The story of the young boy’s, tender, heart being captured by Estella. Not aware that Miss Haversham was raising Estella to punish men in the way she felt she had been punished. Pip starts the story as a sweet giving boy that befriends an escaping convict. Another opportunity for us to witness Pip’s generosity.

    The child named Pip that doesn’t understand Miss Haversham’s cruel aversion to males. He doesn’t know her past that made her into the cruel woman she is. He can only see Estella as a beauty and he loves her to distraction.

    I found myself drawn to the almost animated coldness in her history. Her stopping life at the stroke of eight forty-five​. Living daily with the day that changed her life.

    I fell in love with this book as a Freshman in high school and I have continued to re-read it as often as possible. It is a book I have in hardback and one I will never part with. It sits in a place of honor in my bookcase.

    This book has so much to offer the reader. There is a morality to it that shows genuine kindness and utter cruelty. This is one of Dickens’ best work to me. There is such a deep lesson to be learned from this book. It is a thing of beauty. Truly worth​ being called a classic.

    Recommendation

    If you read it in High School and thought​ it was ho-hum​, give it a chance as an adult and see if you can’t see the moral and the beauty of the book. There are several versions for free on Amazon. Now is an awesome time to check out the classics and fall in love again.

    Where to Find Great Expectations:

    | Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Audible |

    View all my reviews

    8 thoughts on “Book Review: Classics Edition: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

      1. Several, A Christmas Carol is another one that hits me in the heart. I didn’t enjoy Oliver Twist as much, I found him to dirty and gritty. I might be a snob about characters LOL. The link is for a free digital copy if you are interested in a digital.

        Liked by 2 people

    Leave a Reply

    