AudioBook Review: The Lonesome Dead by Ambrose Ibsen

  • Listening Length: 3 hours and 31 minutes
  • Program Type: Audiobook
  • Version: Unabridged
  • Publisher: Ambrose Ibsen
  • Audible.com Release Date: July 13, 2016
  • Genre: Horror
  • My Rating:

    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    The Book Blurb:

    “Don’t look out towards Knob Island at night.” That was the warning Douglas’ grandfather gave him as a boy. Now returning to the shores of Lake Manuxet as a grown man, with his twin sister and their ailing grandmother in tow for a final, nostalgic visit, Douglas begins to experience frightful things in his cherished childhood vacation spot.

    Just what is it that claws its way out of the lake each night, only to approach their cabin? What mysteries does the remote lake hold? Are the horrors Douglas experiences genuine, or is he simply inheriting the madness that seems to run in his family? What is the true nature of the cryptic warning his grandfather gave him so many years ago about the small island at the center of Lake Manuxet?

    What begins as a sentimental pilgrimage to a once-enjoyable vacation spot rapidly deteriorates into a fight for survival and sanity.

    The Lonesome Dead is a standalone novel of supernatural suspense and terror by Ambrose Ibsen.

    My Review:

    The Lonesome Dead had a good mysterious ghostly story. I found the pace a little slow for me and the needless details a bit cumbersome. The end was one hundred times better than the first half. I felt I was walking through mud to get to the good stuff. When the good stuff arrived, It was scary, I was happy and ready for it.

    The writing is, of course, good, in depth and almost too descriptive. I mean, for goodness sakes, we even went to the bathroom with Douglas. I liked the ghostly aspects more than the other ramblings of the main character, Douglas.

    I am glad I listened to the audiobook, I just would have cut out a few of the extra details like the naming of the fish in the lake. It was just a little too wordy for me. The action was not as in-depth​ as the descriptions of the surrounding terrain.

    The narration was very well done. The narrator, Gary Tiedemann had an expressive voice that led to a greater feeling of fear when that portion of the story came up. I think if you like the descriptiveness of say, Stephen King, you might really enjoy this.

    I am giving four hearts, due to the ending, the twists at the end, and the narration. If the ending had not been so intriguing​ I would have ​stopped at the three stars. It is worth giving a listen to.

    Recommendation

    If you love a good ghost, horror story, this would be a good choice. I have trouble with overly wordy books like Stephen King puts out. That is a personal opinion and I did not take away on the rating for that. It was just not as good as the other books I have read by Ambrose Ibsen.

    Where to Find The Lonesome Dead:

    | Audible | Amazon |

    3 thoughts on “AudioBook Review: The Lonesome Dead by Ambrose Ibsen

    Leave a Reply

    