Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildHarry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

  • Print Length: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Pottermore from J.K. Rowling; Special Rehearsal ed. edition (July 31, 2016)
  • Publication Date: July 31, 2016
  • Sold by: Pottermore
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01BMJWU4Q

 

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥

 

I read the play Harry Potter and the cursed child and I was immediately thrown back into the good old days at Hogwarts. Even as Harry Potter and Draco Malfoy have now become men and quite comfortable as friends. It is fun when you see the children heading off to school, being sorted and making friends. Although there was not as much of that as I would have liked. I have always loved the lives they led while at Hogwarts and would have loved to see more action and activities taking place at the school.

There is a simplicity to the story that makes you appreciate the original story. True, the world is still the same as we knew it and now we have new people sharing their adventures nineteen years later. There are emotions throughout the play that gives Albus Potter a depth that you might not expect. I certainly did not expect it.

I give it three stars because it wasn’t quite what you expect from a Harry Potter book. I liked it, I got the answers I had wondered about. In fact, I got answers, I didn’t know were a question. Ron was sad, I felt sorrier for him now than I ever did as a teen.

It was good. It was a nice familiar read. I am glad my daughter bought it, read it, then loaned it to me. She would have bought it even if it was horrible. She is more of a fan than I am. I loved the books, but she LOVED the books.


My Recommendation:

 

Potter fans like her will get more out of it than I did. That’s good. It is going to be a good play. It will make many people happy. If you are a Potter fan, chances are you are going to love the subtle tugs of memories and nostalgia that is triggered. It was good. I give it a three, maybe a three and a half.

Where to Find Harry Potter and the Cursed Child:

 
The book released on July 31st, and is available in Hardback, Nook, and Kindle editions.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

  1. I agree for a potter head like me it’s certainly appealing I watched the play Thursday&yesterday and it was amazing even though I’d seen it I’ve just spent today reading the book too!! I agree there wasn’t enough of Hogwarts and their time at school for me that was something I loved in the original stories learning about their time at Hogwarts I feel this also changed and enhanced my feelings towards certain characters, for me I really was drawn to Scorpius more than albus in this story but that’s just my opinion, I’d recommend seeing the play as it’s real life people acting out the emotions and whereas the books left alot out in the film adaptations this being the script of the play nothing’s left out or altered 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really liked Scorpius, he was real and made reading about Albus even better. I am worried that my daughter will see this review and shake her head at me in a disappointed fashion.
      I am sure seeing it live, onstage will be amazing. The actors will put emotion where there are sometimes only words.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

