Book Review: The Troublemaker Next Door by Marie Harte

The Troublemaker Next Door (The McCauley Brothers, #1)The Troublemaker Next Door by Marie Harte

  • Print Length: 350 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca (June 3, 2014)
  • Publication Date: June 3, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00HFDVOGO
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


    My Review:

    The book was a fun read. It could have been a five but I did not like some of the over the top language that was used. It was a little more graphic than I expected. The writing was fine and the story could have been more fun, but the protagonist was a little too rough​ for me. The truth is, I liked Flynn much more than I liked Maddie. She was too harsh and I found that a little offputting. I understand hesitancy, but that girl made him work way too hard and she was lucky he stood for it. I liked that he was really into her but she refused to see that he was serious and stable about her.

    I liked the side characters, Abby was cute and Brody was a wounded widower that didn’t expect to ever feel love again. He may,in another book. Here they just laid the groundwork. Abby too has her own issues about things, neurotic came to mind even before she admitted it.

    It was a cute book with a lot of heat. The wording was graphic and a surprised me a little bit. I guess that is how the twenty somethings and the thirty-somethings talk now. I just didn’t know it.
    This was a Sourcebooks-Casablanca read so it stretched out over a month. I found it a little slow in the beginning and started it several times​ before I got into the story. So although it was good, it just wasn’t five star quality to me.

    My Recommendation:

    Maybe if I had read it all at one sitting, I might have enjoyed it more. I intend to read more of her work, even if it is only to find out if all her women characters are rough as a cob. If they are I will have to pass on a third book.

    Where to Find The Troublemaker Next Door:

    This book is available​ on Kindle, Nook and Paperback by clicking the links below.

    Amazon | Kindle |

    Barnes and Noble | Nook |
    View all my reviews

    Leave a Reply

    