Book Review: The Big R, by Dean Baker

The Big RThe Big R by Dean Baker

  • Print Length: 336 pages
  • Publication Date: May 21, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00KHYC368
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    Reading about Evan’s predicament made me feel bad for the guy while I laughed at some of the escapades. Nothing worse than having to watch your social and business life crash and burn right before you are heading to a reunion with all your successful classmates. No one said High School was easy and the memories of those winners, make Evan want to shine, not be a dull embarrassment, single and unemployed. So Evan attempts to change his situation.

    Watching Evan go from bad, to worse, to weird is almost a painful journey, except, you can’t help laugh. The humor was laced all through the story and even when I was shaking my head at the situation. at one point I was thinking, oh my gosh, I think we have been writing emails to the same people.

    A funny look at a man trying to make the best of the unpleasantness that sometimes follows us around like a little personal dark cloud.

    The first of the story, I felt more pain than humor, but once I got to know the central characters, I could see just how eccentric they really were. Barry was a nightmare friend. He had one task in life, and he looks for it everywhere he goes.

    My Recommendation:

    With a little bit of potty humor, and nothing terribly shocking this is a good funny read for adults. I learned a few British terms that had me shaking​ my head at first. I can’t wait for Mr. 80’s to come out. It should be a rip-roaring crazy time. Who knew Political scientists were so funny.

    Where to Find The Big R:

    This book is available on KindleUnlmited and in Paperback. You​ can purchase by clicking the links below.

    Amazon | Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Nook | Walmart |

    View all my reviews

    2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Big R, by Dean Baker

    Leave a Reply

    