Book Review: Sky Rivals, by Adam L. Penenberg

Sky RivalsSky Rivals by Adam L. Penenberg

  • Paperback: 212 pages
  • Publisher: Wayzgoose Press (February 5, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 193875719X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1938757198

 

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥



My Review:

 

My heart leaped in my chest when I saw the title of this book. I am one of those goofy people that cheer after an exhilarating takeoff and cheer again on a long screaming landing. There is something about being on a plane, watching a jet take off and land, or just seeing one streaking across the sky overhead that makes me fall in love. So I asked to review this book on NetGalley and I was thrilled when the publisher, Wayzgoose Press agreed to allow me a copy to read and review.

I was in no way disappointed, in fact, I found more to love about aviation. Such a good book filled with the dangers, adventures and events of these two great pilots plus information on the history of flight itself and the pioneers of the industry. The main topic was about Wiley Post and Jimmy Mattern. They were engaged in an around the world competition, but before that, they were barnstorming young men and their flying machines.

I enjoyed this book so much and was so happy to receive this book from NetGalley in exchange for this unbiased review. The history of the airplane industry, the story of the pilots and the accounts of their flights was so interesting.

There were fascinating facts that made the book even more exciting for me. Knowing that a certain famous and important aviation brother signed Wiley Post’s flying license was just one piece of information that thrilled me no end.

To know these men were learning to fly just a few years after the introduction of flight. To read about their harrowing escapes, the broken equipment, and near death escapes kept me engaged and wanting to know more. The story was engaging and told in language that allowed me to understand the mechanics and just appreciate their dangerous and special role in the history of aviation.


My Recommendation:

 

I honestly would recommend this to anyone that loves flight, aircraft, history, and just good storytelling. This Historical nonfiction will fill all your desires to know more about the good old pioneer days of flight. Handsome, pilots, One-eyed pilots and the friendly rivalry and competition n will certainly keep you reading for hours. Well written by Adam l. Pennenberg in down to earth language and imagery makes reading this fun and exciting.


Where to Find Sky Rivals:

Leave a Reply

