Book Review: Coulrophobia & Fata Morgana

Coulrophobia & Fata MorganaCoulrophobia & Fata Morgana by Jacob M. Appel

  • Paperback: 182 pages
  • Publisher: Black Lawrence Press (September 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1625579535
  • ISBN-13: 978-1625579539
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    I find myself holding another book filled with short stories that make me ask questions, think and smile. That means I am reading one of Jacob Appel’s books again. There are ten short stories in this newest book and honetly, each one is a winner.

    In the first Daniel had one heck of a grandmother. That first story gets your blood pumping and primed for the next. I love the way Jacob Appel writes. He makes me flinch when he turns the story on its ear.

    The second story was about a mean cousin. What a jumbled story with humor and meanness mixed together. Is that a thing? Well, Jacob Appel made it one and he made it work.

    Boundaries is another little jewel that makes you realize, that people are a mess. They are confused and selfish, and basically just a mess. Besides that, they are fun to read about.

    Coulrophobia is delightfully punny. It is one of the best stories I have read. Makes me laugh just recalling the story.

    Saluting the Magpie Is the story of one ingenious baby. What a story. Very unexpected.

    Fata Morgana made me want to pick up smoking. It was a totally oddball story. So of course, I loved it.

    There were several more stories that were just as engaging as these.

    My Recommendation:

    I love the way Jacob Appel writes. He takes you down a hall and right at the end, he turns a corner. Sometimes you smack into a wall at the end of the corner, sometimes you realize nothing is as it seemed. It is always a journey and always a treat to read his stories. This book is no exception. I learned a new word and am happy I do not suffer from it. It was a wonderful reading experience.

    Where to Find Coulrophobia & Fata Morgana:

    This book is available in Paperback on Amazon by clicking the link below.

    Amazon

    View all my reviews

    One thought on “Book Review: Coulrophobia & Fata Morgana

    Leave a Reply

    