Book Review: The Scent of Jasmine, by Jude Deveraux

The Scent of Jasmine (Edilean, #4)The Scent of Jasmine by Jude Deveraux

  • Print Length: 434 pages
  • Publisher: Pocket Books; Original edition (December 28, 2010)
  • Publication Date: December 28, 2010
  • Sold by: Simon and Schuster Digital Sales Inc
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003UYUS32

 

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

 

Before August of 2015, I never did reviews on books I read. I simply rated them on Goodreads and went on my merry way. So sometimes, I remember how much I loved a book and have to go back and review it. This was one of those books for me. The story takes place in 1799 before Florida was truly inhabited by English transplants. Alex McDowell and Cay AKA Catherine Edilean Harcourt were adorable. They were so anti each other that it made for a tense read wondering when they were going to realize they were meant for each other. I loved when they were sneaking around in the everglades with Cay dressed as a young man and Alex panting after her. It made for some strange looks when they would sneak off together. The others in the expedition did not know exactly what to make of them. That was so funny to me and just added another layer of icing on the cake.

Fun story and great characters. Alex is ba convict that has been accused of murdering his own wife. Cay’s uncle asks her to help him, after that, it is running for their lives and hoping to clear his name. It is what a Deveraux novel is meant to be. I loved it. This story is one of the Edliean series and tells of the family of the founders of this Virginia town.

As Jude Deveraux is one of my most prolific and favorite romance novelists, I was captured from the start. Her way with a story keeps me coming back for more. I enjoy her character building and her special way of telling the story. There is heat, but I am not red faced while reading it. Sometimes, that is exactly enough for me.

The series hops from one generation to another and I love that. I love that I get to see the founding family in a complete story. Looking back at people’s history as a conversation in a book is fine and wonderful, but having a whole book dedicated to them is just a totally different playing ground.


My Recommendation:

 

I adored this book. The series is amazing and if you love Jude like I love Jude, you must read this series.


Where to Find The Scent of Jasmine:

 
This book is available in paperback, on Kindle, in hardback, on Nook, and as an Audiobook, by clicking the links below.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

