Alaskan Cruise Port of Call: Sitka

Leaving the Glacier Bay national Park we watched our Tlingit Guide hop off the ship and speed off in a park ranger boat. That was an exciting time. The ship’s guests were all lining the edge of the ship watching this woman hop off. I blinked, and there she was in the little boat. Nothing for me to see, I didn’t even get a picture of her jumping ship. Darn it!  We were finished with the day’s activities, the native made souvenirs had been removed from the Lido deck and we were once again free to move about the boat.

IMG_2031

Down the stairs, guarded by the might mermaids and mermen on the staircase, we headed to dinner and a lovely production in the theatre. A beautiful show of dancers and singers. It was the perfect way to end the evening. Daylight meant, arriving in Sitka. After sitting on the terrace outside our room and seeing more stars than I had ever seen before not to mention viewing my very first satellite crossing the sky, my sister and I called it a night. I slept so well with that gentle rocking and did not wake up until morning. That is quite unusual for me. I thoroughly enjoyed that deep sound sleep. When morning came, I was ready to get in line to disembark.

Sitka, Alaska. All ashore that is going ashore!  The exciting part of this day in particular was, there was no dock. We were simply sitting right in the middle of the bay. Little islands with houses on them dotted the shoreline. IMG_2018

IMG_2017

 

IMG_2019Surrounded on three sides by little islands,  and one volcano. It was as we went to the other side of the ship that we found it, Sitka!

IMG_2023

 

Gathing our jackets and shopping bags, we took our place in line.   As the line moved forward, I could hear the rumbling of motor crafts engines and then I saw them.  The little life boats. Pulled up beside the ramp and the crew helping us onboard one person at a time.  Oh my gosh, we were going to be in those little crafts.  Welcome to the day of the Tender.

The line began to move and suddenly, I found myself looking down into the little lifeboats. They call them tenders, I called them little lifeboats. I recognized them from the practice drill we participated in as soon as we left Seattle. But once I got over thinking about Titanic and the lack of lifeboats, I realized they are darn cute and they are pretty neat. The staff sits in a high seat and mans the controls. It was a nice little trip to the shore. lwBID4H - Imgur

Once we docked our Tender at the pier, we were able to stroll about the former Russian town at will and see the art displays, the crafted items and visit the museums and the old town church. It was a lovely day to spend with no formal excursion planned. I bought postcards for my family and mailed them from Alaska and the hoped they beat me home. Is there anything funnier than being back home from a trip when the postcard finally arrives?  And yes, I was home before the postcard arrived.

Sitka is a beautiful port with all the isolated homes, it appears to be one home on each small island. Right in the center of the narrow street, you can see Sitka Lutheran church. It is beautiful with the spires overhead. Sitka Lutheran church was established in 1840. You can tour the cathedral and see the Kessler organ that was made in Estonia in  1844.

sitka-church

After walking through each store, trying on jackets that announce you have been to Alaska and picking up plenty souvenirs, it was time to head back to the dock, climb aboard the tender and cruise back to the Westerdam.  It was a lovely day in Sitka Alaska.

xfp4vxt-imgur

2 thoughts on “Alaskan Cruise Port of Call: Sitka

Leave a Reply

