Book Review: New Release: Photographs From The Edge, by Art Wolfe

edge

  • Hardcover: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Amphoto Books (September 20, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1607747812
  • ISBN-13: 978-1607747819

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My Review:

Photographs From The Edge by Art Wolfe with Rob Sheppard is a wonderful collection of photographs taken from all over the world from the 1980’s until today. The full-color photographs bring life to the book. From Monks in hot pink to penguins relaxing in Antarctica there are so many people, animals, and stunning locations covered in this one book. The pages are glossy and not only provide beauty, they provide instruction and equipment details. Allowing for the aspiring photographer to learn from this professional world class photographer. I have seen some beautiful photographs before, but this one book is filled with rare one of a kind scenes. Masks, tribes, on land and on sea, unique quality photos of wildlife, people, and scenery, like I have never seen before. For a look at the magnificent pictures inside the book, click here.

An excerpt from Photographs From The Edge:

Many of the locations I have visited have come from reviewing photo and art books I’ve collected in my library over the years. If I feel a location has only barely been covered and there is a lot more left to explore, I’ll make a note to head there. But if it looks as though other photographers have captured the best the area has to offer, I’ll look elsewhere. Many people are surprised I have not been to some of the classic locations, such as the pyramids of Egypt or the city of Prague with its beautiful architecture. Instead, I’ve tried to open up new areas, exploring the tundra outside of Churchill, Canada, long before there were tundra buggies or spending three years waiting to get a permit to penetrate the jungles of Venezuela, the home to the Yanomami people. I photographed along Brooks Falls in Alaska some time before there were boardwalks, overlooks, and railings in place. My favorite location is honestly the last place I’ve been. I get energized and fill my soul with creating art and being in the field. Of course, I do have favorite locations for various subjects. India is so full of culture and color one could spend a lifetime exploring it. The Pantanal in Brazil has such a density of tropical birds that it is a birder’s paradise. South Georgia Island is a wonderful destination as the animals there have only seen the occasional photographer and as a result have little fear of humans.

About the Photographer:

Art Wolfe is one of the most celebrated wildlife/nature photographers in the United States today. His award-winning photography reflects a close study of both nature and composition and is featured frequently in periodicals such as National Geographic, Smithsonian, Life, and Outdoor Photographer.

Where to Find Photographs From The Edge:

The large hardback book is available by clicking the links below:

Amazon  |  Kindle  |  Barnes and Noble | Nook |

 

Leave a Reply

