Four Reviews for The Path of the Child!

Checking on my book tonight I found there were four reviews that I had not mentioned before.  I appreciate these reviews so much. I get discouraged like everyone else, then I see a review on a book that was written with so much love and it lifts me through the ceiling. While I am floating I decided to thank them in public through the blog post.  Thank you all for reading and reviewing The Path of the Child.

5.0 out of 5 stars A story of Hope and the Power of the Human Spirit, September 8, 2016
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Path of the Child (Paperback)
Path of a Child offers an engaging story of a young girl’s hopes, fears and struggle to find her way in the world. I was pulled in through a ‘present moment’ connection to Mel’s experience of the world.

As the story unfolds we see Mel’s challenges reflected from a childhood of emotional abandonment. Raised by a mother who offered no demonstration of Love or Support “The Path” offers the Truth of the unseen challenges we all carry. Most of all, this story brought me in touch with the things people go through in childhood that we can’t appreciate when we’re young. I couldn’t help wondering about people I knew in school who were quiet – realizing there was more to EVERYONE’s story that’s not seen from the outside. It reminded me just how important our little kindnesses and acknowledgements really are.

I admired Mel’s demonstration of courage and the innocence and integrity of her intention to find her own path. I was uplifted by this story and recommend it for the inspiration and hope it offers to reveal we are all hold the power of change and transformation when we are led by the simple intention to Love and be Loved.


4.0 out of 5 stars A well-told story with surprising emotional depth, September 28, 2016
This review is from: The Path of the Child (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this read, which surprised me. I normally stick to spec fiction, but a friend encouraged me to read this one.

There’s a surprising emotional depth to this story. You’ll feel it a little at first. As the story unfolds, the author does a really nice job of drawing you further and further in. The author also does a great job setting up characters and relationships that you think you understand, and then reveals much more and turns your assumptions inside out.

Overall, I thought the story, and the story within the story, were both nicely developed. I liked the main character. She felt very real and very relatable. The pacing was good throughout, and the ending left me satisfied.

Recommended for fans of emotional, memoir-style drama and light-mystery.


5.0 out of 5 starsFantastic Read, September 6, 2016
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Path of the Child (Kindle Edition)
This story is well written and provokes deep emotions that allow you to connect with each of the characters in the story. This author has brought the story and its characters to life in this book. Ms. McConnell has done a fantastic job in making her characters memorable. I actually look forward to reading more books that are written by this author.

5.0 out of 5 stars Love and Appreciation for a person’s worth make all the difference, September 3, 2016
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: The Path of the Child (Paperback)
Sojourner McConnell has written a thoughtful book about a young girl from a troubled home- with books to guide the child’s development until at a critical time in her life, the love of strangers and ultimately family help the child blossom- it ends on a very hopeful note, with emphasis on how important love and appreciation for a person’s worth makes all the difference in thriving or not. This book is a great read, I would recommend it highly.
5 thoughts on “Four Reviews for The Path of the Child!

  1. Congrats on great reviews. We put so much heart into what we right and we are susceptible to highs and lows and it can set a day right to know someone read what we read and found value in it. For me it is also those who listen to my piano compositions and when what we do is original it keeps us writing and gives us inspiration to keep going.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are exactly right. It is so easy to doubt ourselves and question if what we do has value. It only takes a few kind words to put my heart in flight! I am listening to your compositions now. Beautiful! Absolutely beeautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

