New Release: Book Review: If I Wake, by Nikki Moyes

If I WakeIf I Wake by Nikki Moyes

  • Print Length: 276 pages
  • Publisher: Inspiring Publisher (September 21, 2016)
  • Publication Date: September 21, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LZ87NNQ

 

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

 

Although there is no beauty in despair, this book has beauty in sharing the despair of Lucy with the reader. I ached for Lucy, I yearned for her to find Will in whatever year she landed. I felt regret for her when she reawakened in her own time.

Her time consisted of bullies, hatred, and cruelty.It also contained a negligent mother that spent more time on herself than trying to figure out what was truly going on with her daughter. After years of invisibility, Lucy walked that fine line of believing that life was no longer worth living and wanting to live a life worth living.

My heart broke every time someone was cruel and vicious to her. This book made me feel. And feel deeply, yet through it all, there was this glimmer of hope. This higher purpose was calling out to her in every episode of her sleeping in her time while living in a much different time. These times, all spaced throughout history are remarkably researched and amazingly detailed. They made the story so alive. I will not ruin it by telling you about the times, but they are wonderfully vivid.

The characters were so well written that I could envision the animosity that Lucy lived with on a daily basis. I could remember that girl that didn’t quite fit in at my school and was given a mean nickname by bullies. I once again remembered the sympathy I felt and the helplessness of the situation. There are some very tough subjects broached in this book and they are handled with sensitivity and realism. The realism was tangible.


My Recommendation:

 

This book is written for Young Adults, but has a message for any age group. The story is worth hearing and remembering. The message encluded is that there is always a ray of hope. Sometimes it is a very slight and narrow ray of hope, but it is there, you just need to try to hold on.


Where to Find If I Wake:

 

This book is available in Kindle format and is available at Amazon
View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

