Book Review: New Release: I Was a Bitch, by Emily Ruben

I Was A BitchI Was A Bitch by Emily Ruben

  • Print Length: 521 pages
  • Publisher: Inkitt (October 10, 2016)
  • Publication Date: October 10, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01MAUYQT0
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    I was pulled in by the very beginning of the book. From the first chapter, we as readers begin a journey of unraveling a series of events that lead to the main character waking up from a coma. With mysterious people entering her room and her unfortunate memory loss, we feel the confusion and fear that Lacey feels.

    The story moved quickly along with bits and pieces of memory floating in just enough to make her conflicted.

    She had a boyfriend, yet she wasn’t quite comfortable with his attention and his “babe” and most importantly with his potential kisses. Yes, he was handsome, model good looks, we are told that quite often. There is one special person that comes in and Finn is the one she wants to snuggle with and kiss. Yet he as far as she knows might be her gay best friend. He is also amazing to look at with his model good looks and hot body, and we are told that very often.

    I almost gave this a 4-star rating due to the shallowness of the hot body, beautiful bodies, model good looks, aspect of the book. But I decided that it was a story a 5 to me. Other than a little bit of redundancy in the good looks department, I loved the book.

    It had me interested in solving the mystery of what happened to her. What led up to the event and what was her life like before she woke up in the hospital.

    Emily Ruben also had me engaged with the side characters. They were really well fleshed out and had personality and an individuality of their own.

    I cringed as she found out just how cold she had been before the accident, yet little glimpses of good came through her breakthrough memories on occasion. She was piecing her life together and sharing it with us. There was some rough language, but not as much as you might suspect. I was so happy to be able to review this book. The medical parts of the books showed strength in Lacy that she did not realize she had.

    My Recommendation:

    If you like a shadowy mystery and a sweet story of love, friendship, being a reformed queen bee, and finding redemption in your own mind, you will love this. It is fresh and empowering. It has been a long time since I was in high school yet, this book spoke to me. It is a special story about finding yourself when faced with the bitter truth about your own behavior. It was a very good read and I liked how Ms. Ruben kept us in the dark along with Lacy. It as perfectly executed.

    Where to Find, I Was a Bitch:

    | Amazon | Kindle |
    View all my reviews

    Leave a Reply

    