Book Review: The Impetuous Heiress, by Jane Ashford

The Impetuous HeiressThe Impetuous Heiress by Jane Ashford

  • Mass Market Paperback: 220 pages
  • Publisher: Signet; First Edition edition (June 5, 1984)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0451129687
  • ISBN-13: 978-0451129680
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    I read this through Sourcebook-Casablanca, which means I read it over a course of a few weeks a little bit a day. I did not like the beginning at all. I was almost tempted to stop reading. I let a few days go without reading the selection and then I picked it up again, giving it one more shot at pulling me in. That was when I began to warm up to the characters and I realized I was seeing her as Ian saw her. I was measuring Lady Alicia like Ian was measuring her.

    then I began to relax as he became a little less moody and arrogant and she became a little less hoity-toity and conniving. When she made friends with Ian’s sister I started liking the pace of the story.

    Alicia began to see her own behavior might not be as harmless as she imagined. When she began to believe that she was fallible, I began to like her more.

    So at that point, it crept up from one annoying insufferable heart to three “I need to read more” hearts.

    Perhaps it was when the backstory of Ian became clear that I found more to like. Then little by little, I realized that was the mark of great writing. Jane Ashford had allowed me to live the progress of Ian and Alicia’s entire romance.

    By this time I was totally invested in the story, I wanted Ian to see that he had been totally wrong about Alicia and then we hopped up to four hearts just with the last chapter of the book.

    I admit she got me with her storytelling skill.

    My Recommendation:

    I do recommend this as a thoroughly good book, but be prepared not to like Alicia at first. For some reason, even though Ian was a stuffed shirt, I always found some redeeming value in his staunchness.

    Where to Find, The Impetuous Heiress:

    This historical Romance is available in Audiobook and paperback by clicking the links below.

    | Amazon | Audible |
    View all my reviews

    Leave a Reply

    