NaNoWriMo for Young Writers, Make it a Family Event, or a Classroom Event!

NanoWriMo is about to start and Mom and Dad, don’t forget to invite your young writer to share the month of fun with you. There is an entire program just for young writers. With workbooks that are free to download so that that spark of the love of writing can begin November 1st. Teachers and  homeschool educators  can introduce the young writer to the process as well. There are tools for each circumstance.

Where can I get a free workbook?

toolsmc-worksheet

Worksheets are included in these free PDF files. Walking the elementary school, middle school, and high school students through the entire process of writing their first novel. With proofreading hints and tips, guidelines on making the story have peaks and valleys of suspense, and guiding the young writer through the entire process. I gained a lot of advice reading these workbooks. These workbooks carry the young writer from plotting, through editing and proofreading all the way to submitting their work for publication.

middlesubmission

 

If there had been a NaNoWriMo when I was a young parent, I can only imagine the fun the children and I would have had throughout the month of November. Instead of just reading books together, we could have all hunkered into the family room and written books together. Now it is a real event. This is the time to share the news with young writers in your life about NaNoWriMo’s Young Writers Program.

What support is available?

encourageeducator-tools

Share this post with anyone that you believe might be enthused about their young writer joining in on their creative month. What a wonderful opportunity. As a grandmother, I promise I am sending this information to most of my grandchildren. I have two older grandchildren that I inherited when my daughter married their dad and I am hoping to encourage them as well.

The Young Writer Program website is being revamped at this time, yet there is an opportunity to sign up for notification when the site goes live. They will send an email announcing the new site. I can’t wait to see what new additions have been added. Once the new site goes live the link to the old site will become invalid. So sign up to be notified so that you have all the most current information available. The site should go live any time now as we move closer to November. Just as an aside, I have signed up for  notification and will change all the links on this page when it is live, so the links provided, will stay current.  🙂

Want to know more about getting your child or student involved?

Go to Young Writers Program at Nanowrimo and. There is also plenty of information on the educator’s role in NaNoWriMo. Are you a teacher, do you homeschool? Would you like to have your students involved? There are free tools to make this happen.

educatorslesson-plans

I hope this has inspired a young writer, a parent, teacher, or educator, to introduce the challenge of NaNoWriMo into your life.  Writing can open so many doors to the minds of the children. I hope you take advantage of the opportunity that is available to you.

Please let me know if you are participating. I would love to know how your family of writers, class of writers, or students are doing.  Opportunities like this make me so glad to be part of the current computer based world.

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo for Young Writers, Make it a Family Event, or a Classroom Event!

      1. My children certainly have! I also mentor other young writers and am hosting a few low-key sessions this year, versus teaching as I have in years past. It allows writers of every age and inclination the power to know their story is important, valuable to the collective experience, and to write with wild abandon — not to censor or edit. I also attempt to get parents on board by allowing their children the Grace and Space to not only craft their story without interruption, but for parents to cut back on regular chores (or assignments in the case of our homeschoolers!) to allow children the time to write and reach their goals! Thank you for writing about it 🙂

        Like

      1. Yay! I am slowly gathering my tools and look forward to the add! I’m sure I am on the site as ‘Bikurgurl’ and would love if you added me 🙂 I’m busy getting my writers, and my own, ground work laid for a productive November 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. What a great idea. So glad to see that it is popular. I have 1 commitment from 1 six-year-old and I am calling and discussing it with 2 more today. (6 and 7) Their Mama says she thinks they will want to do it with me. What fun to have something like this to teach and challenge your children/students. 🙂 Wonderful that you are encouraging these children from other homes to participate. What a lovely person you are!

    Like

Leave a Reply

