Book Review: The Lover’s Portrait, by Jennifer S. Alderson

The Lover's Portrait: An Art Mystery (Adventures of Zelda Richardson, #2)The Lover’s Portrait: An Art Mystery by Jennifer S. Alderson

  • Print Length: 246 pages
  • Publisher: Traveling Life Press (June 22, 2016)
  • Publication Date: June 22, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01EVVS0RI
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    When I read The Lover’s Portrait, I was entranced from the beginning, I didn’t just read it I savored it. It was a time period I love to read about and a subject that I find utterly fascinating. Art stolen from the Jewish owners during World War II has angered me so much, the unfairness of it all. The story comes alive when reading about the art owner and the homosexual art gallery owner. There are so many unusual facets to this story. Subjects that I had never read about unfolded allowing me to see another side of the war and the people that were punished in inhumane ways for being who they are.

    Each chapter held my interest and kept me wanting to know more. Zelda Richardson is a great main character. She has lived a different life in Seattle as a computer programmer before and is finding her passion in an unexpected place in an unexpected career in art. Zelda’s curious mind keeps this mystery unfolding chapter by chapter. The vivid descriptions of Amsterdam and the history of the art community really brought this story to life. The intrigue and personal history of the families brought in a personal element. Each mysterious clue opened so many doors, it kept me wondering what was going to happen next.

    My mind is whirling at the possibilities that events like this actually happened and treasures and historic works of art are hidden away, waiting for discovery. I enjoyed the reading group questions in the back, it allowed me to take a closer look at what I had read and what I felt and learned throughout the book.

    Ms. Alderson brings to the front the emotionally packed time where because of who you were, it was acceptable in the Nazi frame of mind to persecute and confiscate the valuables of those they looked down upon. It was a time of fear and horror and although this book skims over the terror, you feel the tension of the times and the dread and confusion of the victims.

    It is such a well-presented story. It is obvious that Ms. Alderson knows about the systems in place governing the return of these lost pieces of art. I came out of this much more informed than I was before. That makes it a stellar read.

    My Recommendation:

    If you love history, a detailed mystery, and a lovely, yet not run of the mill heroine, then you will love The Lover’s Portrait. Expect to learn more about the real searches and processes in recovering these objects of art.

    Where to Find, The Lover’s Portrait:

    This Art Mystery is available in both Paperback and Kindle by clicking the links below.

    | Amazon | Kindle | Barnes & Noble |
    View all my reviews

    3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Lover’s Portrait, by Jennifer S. Alderson

    Leave a Reply

    