Book Review: Will the Real Carolyn Keene Please Stand UP, by Christine Keleny

Will the Real Carolyn Keene Please Stand UPWill the Real Carolyn Keene Please Stand UP by Earl Keleny

  • Print Length: 376 pages
  • Publisher: CKBooks Publishing (July 27, 2014)
  • Publication Date: July 27, 2014
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00M7AS6UM
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    What a history lesson

    I grew up with Nancy Drew, I collected her books and had quite an impressive number by the time I was grown. I loved the old version whenever possible, but if I had not read it before, I would pick up any newer copy.

    So I had heard about the Father that started writing the mysteries and how when he passed away, his daughter took over. It was a story that was sweet and touched me.

    This was a story I thought I knew something about but now I know the whole story. Although I can appreciate the talent of Edward Stratemeyer he did not exactly play financially fair. His daughter Harriet was even a bit more heavy handed it seems. You have to read this to see what a huge idea Mr. Stratemeyer had and how he made it all work.

    As a Nancy Drew Mystery fan, I found this book to be very eye-opening. It was fun to go back down memory lane with the plots and insider information about the earliest books.

    With secrets, contracts, and unusual business practices, this book made me reevaluate everything I had known before. Written in a fluid manner that keeps you wondering what is going to be revealed later. This book also sheds light on several women, such as Mildred Wirt Benson who went against the norm in a time when women were not expected to do anything but marry and raise children. The questions are answered in this book, or are they? It is up to you to decide.

    Where to Find, Will the Real Carolyn Keene Please Stand UP:

    This historical non-fiction (fiction?) is available in paperback and on Kindle which you can reach by clicking the links below.

    | Amazon | Kindle | Nook |

    View all my reviews

    Leave a Reply

    