Book Review: Historic Rural Churches of Georgia by Sonny Seals

Historic Rural Churches of GeorgiaHistoric Rural Churches of Georgia by Sonny Seals

  • Hardcover: 432 pages
  • Publisher: University of Georgia Press (September 1, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0820349356
  • ISBN-13: 978-0820349350
  • My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    My Review:

    This large and vivid book was so filled with history it brought me back to a more simple time. A time when the local church was a valuable place for the entire community. The building of the churches were community events and their design was both beautiful and unitarian. I loved the stories that accompanied the photos. They made me enjoy the natural beauty of the churches and the importance that the congregation held. It was written as a historic project by the Historic Rural Churches of Georgia Organization.

    This book is a jewel. The color photographs bring the churches and their history to life. The stories contain a wealth of information that tells of the towns, cities, and people that grew up in its shadow.

    Each story brings a feeling of nostalgia to the reading and there is plenty to read. The photographs show the time and care that was taken with the centerpiece of small town Georgia. Some are elaborate and some are as rough as can be. But there is a beauty in both styles.

    Each one of the photographs shares the history and the detail of the design. It also shows the neglect that time has played.

    If you are southern and remember the old churches where they had the long picnic tables attached to two towering trees, or are a city person that would like to see that vision for yourself, you will enjoy this book. It is colorful and it is full of stories that bring the community spirit of churches to light.

    I found this book on NetGalley and I was so happy that I was approved to review it. It called out to me in the simplicity of the cover. I knew I was looking at something special as soon as I looked at the first page. I am providing this review of my own free will and because others should know about this book.

    Where to Find: Historic Rural Churches of Georgia:

    This vivid book with such impressive history is available in Hardcover at Amazon and Barnes and Noble

    View all my reviews

    4 thoughts on “Book Review: Historic Rural Churches of Georgia by Sonny Seals

    Leave a Reply

    