Mystery Thriller Week Book Review: Writing Vivid Dialogue by Rayne Hall

Writing Vivid Dialogue: Professional Techniques for Fiction Authors (Writer's Craft Book 16)Writing Vivid Dialogue: Professional Techniques for Fiction Authors by Rayne Hall

  • Print Length: 143 pages
  • Publication Date: January 4, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B019HHWFHC

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

 

 

Writing Vivid Dialogue by Rayne Hall was truly a godsend to me. I struggle with the characters in my head chatting up a storm but when I put it on paper it sounds dry and forced. So I was so happy to find Writing Vivid Dialogue by Rayne Hall while preparing for Mystery Thriller Week. I asked for this book before I asked for a mystery or a thriller.

I have toyed with writing a mystery or a thriller, but thus far, I have only written a work of fiction that I loosely believe fits in the YA genre. I have been working on short stories and bringing mystery and suspense. I am looking for my niche, but first I need to work on my characters believability when they speak. That was why, when I saw this writing craft authors participating in Mystery Thriller Week I wanted this first.

This book is amazing. There are hints, tips, out and out lessons on bringing the dialogue to life. When I say tips, I mean full out illustrations and examples showing just how much a sentence can change simply in the way it is presented. Then she provides us with assignments that truly help. They drive the points home and you can feel the synapses firing and forming those new pathways. That occurs through the entire book.

Rayne’s writing style in this book is equally friendly and assessable. I did not feel preached to by a robotic computer, or a droning professor. I felt like she knew how hard it is to make the conversations flow and wanted me to know it could be done if I follow her suggestions and mentoring.

Once again I was taken with the details when she addressed contractions. I don’t really write them and it was pointed out in a review. I was floored to realize I didn’t use them very often. So in this new book, I am writing, I have taken pains as she said to keep the sentences short and use contractions.
If you are concerned that you’re not conveying a male perspective correctly or it is coming across as your voice and not the male character, then this book can help you focus on that. Wonderful character tips on the gender differences really hit home with me.

It was easy to second guess myself but now I know I have this book to steer me in a better conversational direction. I can write better, I have worked the assignments and read the differences myself. The direction and mentoring in this book is so perfect. I can’t wait to read other books by Ms. Hall.

I am posting this review during Mystery Thriller Week. The annual event to celebrate mystery and thriller authors, bloggers, and fans.


My Recommendation:

 

I can not recommend this book enough to writers of all levels. There is so much packed into this book. I am keeping it as a reference and will read it often. Each chapter is another powerful tool.

There are so many distinctions in writing dialogue and she touches on them all in a way that motivates you to make it snappier, livelier and as she says more vivid.

Where to Find: Writing Vivid Dialogue:

This reference and detailed training book can be found in paperback and Kindle editions by clicking the links below.

2 thoughts on “Mystery Thriller Week Book Review: Writing Vivid Dialogue by Rayne Hall

Leave a Reply

