Mystery Thriller Review: As Trees Turned Away by David Duane Kummer

As Trees Turned Away

As Trees Turned Away by David Duane Kummer

  • Print Length: 208 pages
  • Publication Date: April 30, 2015
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00X002J9C

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My Review: 

I am writing this review while I am still looking over my shoulder afraid. The creepiness factor is strong in this book. It is deliciously scary. I loved the premise of the short story connection. It was perfectly executed.

The writing style of David Kummer is remarkable. He paints amazingly vivid pictures as you read his words. They flow and paint pictures of ghostly characters, mad men, and spooky situations.

With the beginning story in the anthology by David Kummer, As Trees Turned Away, you know that this book is going to be a good one. With a creepy and yet touching story of a woman her poetry and her broken heart, I was captured immediately.

There is a special treat in the first story that I thought was really well written. When David draws a picture with his words, you can see it. you can visualize the whites and the eyes and the special traits that each character has in the stories. It certainly brought the book to life enough to make me as uncomfortable as I was enthralled.

The stories were chilling. I was reading them at night and I started feeling scared. Maybe I am a chicken, or the stories were that good.

The lantern is so well told, I was looking for a campfire. I can only imagine how his camping stories hold the family’s interest. The common thread in this book was unique and I liked it a lot. Great job.

I read this book for reviewing during Mystery Thriller Week The yearly celebration of the authors, reviewers, and fans of Mysteries and Thrillers.

The characters sometimes appear in several stories and they tie together in an unusual manner. It was very well written and the stories flowed from one to another smoothly. Again I was taken with the talent of this young author. Still a teenager and yet, he writes with a skill that many struggle to master at a much greater age.

I keep finding books by David Kummer to read and I have yet to be disappointed. The stories have everything that makes a good story. I am not going to give away his writing style. I will just say that it is how I appreciate a short story in the end. And at the end of each story I kept finding myself going eeeee… and looked over my shoulder.

This book is a 5 heart book with a 9 star creepy rating. Well done, yet again.

Where to find: As Trees Turned Away: 

This nice collection of short stories is available in paperback and on Kindle by clicking the links below.

| Amazon | Kindle |

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

