Mystery Thriller Week Book Review: A Dangerous Deception by Maggi Andersen

A Dangerous DeceptionA Dangerous Deception by Maggi Andersen

  • Print Length: 203 pages
  • Publisher: Knox Robinson Publishing (October 23, 2016)
  • Publication Date: October 23, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01M9EYC18

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

 

Baron Guy Fortescue was born and raised in France after his father escaped punishment by fleeing England after a deadly duel. He stayed in France yet made sure that the estate was managed in his absence.

When Guy comes back he discovers that the estate that his father had paid to keep up, was indeed not in the shape he desired. When he meets Horatia Cavendish it is not a normal meeting. Guy, was unconscious and she was pretending to be a groom, a male groom.

The characters were very well written with Horatia having a zest for life. I felt for her being cut off and having a father that was so troubled and morose.

I really enjoyed the wit in the book. I liked the relationship that was growing during a faux engagement. To be honest, I loved Guy. I loved his sense of humor, honor, and duty. I loved his personality. I found him to be the type of man I want in my life.

What I missed was more cloak and dagger. I missed more spy activity. With what I did see, I can tell the series is going to build on the spies and it should be a great series. It was a pleasant read. I do love the time period and the way the men acted and reacted. This book caught the formality and the correctness of the era.

I am posting this review during Mystery Thriller Week. The annual event to celebrate mystery and thriller authors, bloggers, and fans.


Where to Find A Dangerous Deception:

This historical suspense is available in paperback, and kindle at Amazon

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

