Book Review: The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining WomenThe Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America’s Shining Women by Kate Moore

  • Hardcover: 496 pages
  • Publisher: Sourcebooks; 1 edition (May 2, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 149264935X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1492649359

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

I read this book over the last few days and I can’t tell you how powerfully these women’s story affected me. I was touched by their inner strength and their willingness to take on a huge company, making them accountable for their actions. The book covers a long period of time in two different states, yet the story was connected with the painful destruction due to mismanagement of a dangerous mineral.

The research into this book was intense and I loved the facts and the personal glimpses into the girl’s lives. Hearing these girls described by relatives that remembered their stories and their own children’s memories of Kate Moore took me back to a time when young girls were innocent and unsuspecting of the greed and corruption of big business. This book needs to be in schools, the lessons were great.
I had never heard of the radium girls, I had, however, seen the glowing green dials of clocks when I was a girl. We had a Westclox alarm clock in our rooms. The glow at night allows us to know that we could sleep a little longer before morning. I never knew that was radium makeing it glow.

I also had no clue that girls, teenage girls had risked and lost their lives painting the numbers with a radium-based paste to provide that glow.

This well-researched book tells of the women that faced an agonizing death because of the companies dishonesty and cold refusal to protect these women.

This is one of those stories that shines the light on greed and calculating big business owners. History has been a long time in sharing the plight of these trusting workers. Now everyone should read their story.
Netgalley allowed me to find this book and read it in exchange for my review. When I chose this book I had no concept that it would be such an in-depth look at an injustice of the nineteen twenties.
New heroes have come to light. And they are the ghost girls of the radium dial factory.


Where to Find The Radium Girls:

This book will be out on May 2, 2017.

Pre-order on Amazon

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

  1. A theatre in Baltimore, Center Stage, presented a play about this very subject in 2008. Touching, powerful drama. I’ve never looked at a glowing dial the same way since. Now I’ll have to find this book. Thanks for the post.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

