Book Review: 10 Routes that Crossed the World by Gillian Richardson

10 Routes That Crossed the World10 Routes That Crossed the World by Gillian Richardson

  • Age Range: 9 – 12 years
  • Grade Level: 3 – 7
  • Series: World of Tens
  • Hardcover: 164 pages
  • Publisher: Annick Press (April 11, 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1554518768
  • ISBN-13: 978-1554518760

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

 

I was so curious about the roads of antiquity and they were covered so well, I learned so much from this book. First I learned about Beringia and from there, we have the introduction to ancient man on the move, I was captured.I knew about the Bering Strait, but I did not realize there was a large landmass right under the shallow sea. The author was quite interesting with her presentation of what might be sometimes considered just facts. Not I, I was involved in the search and exploration of the roads and routes dating back 15000 years. How could I not be?

With roads and trails being covered all over the world from England’s Roman roads to South America where the preciseness of their mountain trails crisscrossing several countries. Beware these routes if you have a fear of heights. Images of these routes and roadways were just as impressive as the narrative.

Seeing the line of gold miners lined up the side of a mountain covered in snow peaked my interest in the Chilkoot trail in Alaska. I had heard it described in a book once, but seeing it, made quite an impression. From the trails that went across the deserts and those that go through the deepest jungles, they are all covered here with photos and so much incredible detail about the people that built them.

If you have a love of history, the world, and world travelers from the beginning of time, you should read this book. It is amazingly detailed.  I was allowed to read this book through NetGalley and the publishers for the purpose of an honest review. Even though it is aimed at a young audience, this book has a lot of information that makes it a valuable read for any age. The language isn’t such that it feels awkward as an adult to read.

The book releases on April 11, 2017, and is available fro pre-order on Amazon

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: 10 Routes that Crossed the World by Gillian Richardson

Leave a Reply

