Book Review: Bright Midnight by Chris Formant

Bright MidnightBright Midnight by Chris Formant

 

  • Print Length: 275 pages
  • Publisher: Astor + Blue Editions; 1 edition (October 27, 2016)
  • Publication Date: October 27, 2016
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01LXR94HQ

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My Review:

Maybe because I was a kid when all these deaths took place they have always intrigued me. All artists all dead at 27 all in the same frame of time. Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Jim Morrison, all famous and well-known members of the 27 club, three other names, I did not recognize, Ron “Pigpen” McKernan, Peter Ham and Brian Jones, but I recognized the bands they played in, Rolling Stones and Badfinger. While I read this book I was informed there were three deaths all within a month of each other. What a starting place for a serial killer concept.

The unique and fascinating musical and historic facts that were dropped into the chapters were so interesting. The looking back at a legendary time in music history as well as the cultural upheaval of the time was fun too.

Music history buff, Gantry Elliot lived the events and now looks back with a reporter’s eye and instinct. As a founding reporter for the Rolling Stones Magazine, he has been given clues and hints about a murder mystery. His memories and eye for details allow him the unique opportunity to solve this crime.

When a BAU agent becomes involved, the story changes and the involvement of Quantico made the book spring to life for me. I do not know if all the technology they discussed exists or not but wow what technology it is. With holographic details and scientific methods, the crime took on an epic feel.

When I saw the blurb on Netgalley I knew I had to request it I was thrilled when the publishers agreed to let me read and review.

A fantastic read If you love history and rock and roll. Just seeing Janis Joplin from a new perspective was totally worth the read. Anyone that loves the music of the late 60’s and loves a good what if mystery, this is the perfect thriller to read. I enjoyed it so much.

Where to Find Bright Midnight:


This historic thriller can be found in paperback and on Kindle by clicking the links below.

| Amazon | Kindle | Barnes and Noble |

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Bright Midnight by Chris Formant

Leave a Reply

