A Lovely Award Nomination!

 

Blogger recognition award

blogger-recognition-award

Thank you, Robbie Cheadle from Robbie’s Inspiration for nominating me for this award. Robbie was sweet enough to nominate me for this as I was recuperating from Mystery Thriller Week.  I really appreciate you thinking of me.

You can see Robbie’s delicious and inspiring blog as well as her nomination at Robbie’s Inspiration

Rules

  1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  2.  Write a post to show your award.
  3.  Attach the award to your post.
  4.  Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  5.  Give a piece or two of advice to new bloggers.
  6.  Select 15 other blogs you want to receive the award.
  7.  Notify your nominees and provide a nomination link to your award post.

How my blog started

 

My blog began way before I was able and willing to write one word on the page. It was just a wee little abandoned link with no love what so ever.  I was sent a 5-year  blog-anniversary card from WordPress and I came back to find it sitting here on the WordPress doorstep with a note pinned to its little onesie.  The note said, “Get to it Vicki, write something.”

 

So I took 2 poems I had written a few years back and posted it. A few weeks later, I wrote a little story about a vase and I posted it.

From there, I found my words, my love of words, and images came flooding into my brain. I started beefing up my simple – read lame– reviews on Goodreads and sharing my love of books, my dogs, my family, my novels and short stories. I was completely hooked.  

Advice for new bloggers

Tip 1. Find the things that make life full, fun, and interesting and share them.  Share often, make friends and converse with them.

Tip 2. Find other blogs that you like and leave a well-meaning comment.  Have no fear, if they are sent to the blog’s spam folder like my comments are, the blogger will eventually find them and respond.  

*Bonus* Tip 3. There is a spam folder, check it often for missing comments. 

Nominations

I nominate the following 15 bloggers for this award:

Kait King, The Writer’s Bloqk;

Sherrie, Sherrie’s Always Write;

Benjamin, The Writing Train;

Jo, Jo’s Book blog;

Sacha Black;

Bikurgurl;

Jam, Leaves et Livres;

Sue Vincent’s Daily Echo;

Nick Verron;

Ashley, Truth about Books;

Alana, Living Out Loud;

Tiana, The Book Raven;

Tony, The Tony Burgess Blog;

Mom, Who’s my Favorite Today

Debbie, Ruff Drafts

 

Follow Vicki and Sojourner McConnell at:

Blog: The Page Turner

Goodreads: Vicki   and Sojourner McConnell Author page

Google Plus: Vicki

Facebook:  Vicki  and Sojourner 

Twitter: Vicki and Sojourner

 

9 thoughts on “A Lovely Award Nomination!

    1. Thank you, Robbie! I enjoy your blog too. That spam filter sees the bullseye on my comments every time. It is probably how we first began to speak to each other, you found me in your spam bin.

      Like

Leave a Reply

