Book Review: Luminous Bodies: Circles of Celebrarions by Melinda Camber Porter

LuminousLuminous Bodies: Circles of Celebrarions: Volume II, Number 2 by Melinda Camber Porter

  • Hardcover
  • Publisher: Blake Press; Hardback 8.5 by 11, Illustrate ed. edition (September 15, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1942231490
  • ISBN-13: 978-1942231493

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


My Review:

 

This has been a month of art and beauty. When I got this book, I really expecting muted drab charcoal drawings I was taken with the butterfly colors and natural beauty in these pages. Each drawing was capturing the freeing of the spirit. It was poetry in color. The abstract beauty was captivating.

Seeing that this was the result of her mourning process really touched me. What an unusual and comforting way to look at loss.

I was provided this book from NetGalley and the publishers. I appreciated finding out about this amazing artist and her view of when the spirit is attempting to leave the body. I am now thirsty to see more of her art and her vision of spirit.

At the time I read this, I knew that it was her way of dealing with the dying process, what I did not know was that Melinda Camber Porter had died in 2008. That made these images of a loved one’s spirit leaving their body so much more poignant.

For several weeks I have been writing several reviews on her work because I have been given the honor of reading her books through the kindness of Joe Flicek from the Melinda Camber Porter Archive of Creative Works.

I want everyone to have a chance to enjoy this amazing collection of works because I am so blown away by her work. Each new book shines a light into my heart with her unique spirituality and beauty. I finished the review for The Triptych Series 27 Oil Paintings just yesterday.  Follow this artists journey with me. Please share what you think about her style, her art and her collection of works. This British woman passed away in 2008 and to be honest I had never heard of her before this month. But seeing that she was a journalist, novelist, artist, interviewer, and artist, I am her biggest and newest fan.

I am about to start her novel Badlands. To be honest, I am not quite sure what to expect. With her visual arts so emotional and basically perfect, can she do the same with writing? I will review and share my personal feelings on the book next week. I am honestly not sure what to expect.

 

Where to Find Luminous Bodies: Circles of Celebrarions:

 

These books of colorful watercolor paintings are available in hardback and ebook through Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Book Review: Luminous Bodies: Circles of Celebrarions by Melinda Camber Porter

Leave a Reply

