Book Review: The Triptych Series: 27 Oil paintings by Melinda Camber Porter

51TjIu8LJvLThe Triptych Series, 27 Large Oil Paintings: ISSN Vol 2, No. 6 Melinda Camber Portet Archive of Creative Works by Melinda Camber Porter

  • Print Length: 150 pages
  • Publisher: Blake Press; 1 edition (February 15, 2017)
  • Publication Date: February 15, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B06X1CV5XK

 

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

My Review:

I was given an opportunity to view and read this amazing book. I was taken with the natural colors, the movement and the stories of how they came to be. I loved learning about the musical that was inspired by the painting.

The haunted look in the Ravages of war just took my soul to a different place. It made me realize that wars continue to haunt people even after the battles are over. The look that lingers is a look of too many things that never should have been seen. The rawness of each one of these tri-fold paintings is so expressive of the lovers and the lives of others.

The artwork is derivative of the altar trifold screens that were long ago housed in Catholic churches. I found the artwork to be powerful and sometimes so abstract that I was forced to look at it at different times of the day to see what was hiding from me the first viewing. I am in awe of her fluid motion that she captures. You can almost see the figures breathing. The Tryst is so touching as it captures a single moment in a lovers reunion. I love it almost as much as I loved The Ravages of War. I had recently read Luminous Bodies: Circles of Celebrarions: Volume II, Number 2 and found that I loved her play with light and the spirit. In general, I loved the emotion of her abstract style of beauty.  I will be posting that review to compliment this one.

Melinda Camber Porter died in 2008 and left such a wonderful collection of art, fiction, plays, and interviews. I loved finding this artist and embracing her uniqueness. It is refreshing to me. I was provided access to most of her works that are out now and I assure you, I will be posting reviews on many. This woman’s art is so fluid it is like seeing the world from outside yourself. I have been so touched.

My thanks to  Joseph R. Flicek, for allowing me to read these books and soak up the joy, pain, and love, that I found inside. 

You can find: The Triptych Series, 27 large oil Paintings in Hardback and ebook at

 Amazon and Barnes and Noble

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Triptych Series: 27 Oil paintings by Melinda Camber Porter

Leave a Reply

