Book Review: American Siren by Stephen Perkins

AMERICAN SIRENAMERICAN SIREN by Stephen Perkins

  • Paperback: 409 pages
  • Publisher: Independently published (November 16, 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 151903007X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1519030078

My Rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ 

My Review:

American Siren is a foray into the music industry that no one but Stephen Perkins could take you. As your tour guide, he shows you the underbelly of the music and television moguls. He brings in ancient beings that have teased and controlled society for centuries. Strange rituals and strange royal snacks make it almost eerily humorous. I found the over the top idiosyncrasies of the people in power to be distasteful yet at the same time, totally intriguing.

The characters in the book are unexpected and absolutely entertaining and not what you expect at all. In all this book is one that will make you flinch and giggle in the same chapter. It is unique and I am very glad I read it. Once again Stephen Perkins made me think, wonder, and question.
Perhaps you wonder why I gave a great review to a book that I originally gave a four heart score. I will share with you what I shared with the author. I looked for a softer person I could rally behind and support, root for and celebrate with, and I was unable to find such a character in this book.

I found one character that I found to be above the rest in personal attributes, but he wasn’t a gentle soul, he was excellently written and he was debonair and sharp as a tack. Perhaps I did root for him a bit and perhaps I did rally behind him somewhat. Which is why I pushed this four hearts to five. It is not an author’s flaw, it was a character flaw. I realized I had been too harsh, after all, aren’t the best characters in literature made better by their character flaws?

Where to find American Siren:

This book is exclusively on Amazon as both a paperback and Kindle.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Book Review: American Siren by Stephen Perkins

Leave a Reply

