Reviews for Seven Short Stories by Eric Weir

I had heard talk of the movie called the Martian. For one thing it starred Matt Damon. Secondly it was about outer space. I had not really paid too much attention at the time so other than the two things I did know, I was clueless. That was until I found a link to a short story by the Eric Weir. The author of The Martian. After I found the link to one of his stories, I was hooked. I looked up six more of his short stories and read them one after the other. They were very short and very interesting. Each had a hook or a twist. With that in mind I wrote my own small review and included the link to each story. I hope you click the links and read the stories. They are totally worth the time.

The EggThe Egg by Andy Weir

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I stumbled onto this author through another person’s review on Goodreads and boy what a fortuitous event that was for me. I love his short stories. They are filled with ideas that really make you think. With twists and concepts that are totally different. You can read the Egg here. Thanks to Jenny for the review that led me to Andy Weir.

The Real DealThe Real Deal by Andy Weir

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

What a great little short story. I did not see the twist coming. It was a tender story that has a lot of heart. I am glad I read it. You can read it here

Annie's DayAnnie’s Day by Andy Weir

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

That story was great. The end caught me off guard but sure made sense. Annie is a bit of a bad girl. This is my favorite Andy Weir story yet. I must keep reading. You can read Annie’s Day here

 

AccessAccess by Andy Weir

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This short story had me drawn in and once I knew all about her, I wanted this story to continue. This was too good to be a short story. Flesh it out after the reveal at the end. It is worth reading. You can read it here

The ChefThe Chef by Andy Weir

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Another short story by Andy Weir that left me kind of cringing. I did re read it and realized that it was a totally different story the second time around. You can read it here Nicely executed with that final twist. I really like reading his stories. Now I need to pick up The Martian.

Meeting SarahMeeting Sarah by Andy Weir

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This short story cinched it, I love Andy Weir. He knows my mind. If you would like to read this story, and you should in my humble opinion, then read it here. To me this was the perfect read.

AntihypoxiantAntihypoxiant by Andy Weir

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

That was a quick study into a world I knew nothing about. I didn’t even know what that word meant. Lucky for me Andy Weir was there to explain it to me. I learned much about the word and then I learned that man sometimes outmaneuvered themselves. Another one that should be read,especially if you think you know more than everyone else. I tease! If you want to read it you can find it here.

Now that you have had your appetite whetted, you can be like me and set about to pick it up The Martian. If this is a sample of his skill at writing, it should be amazing.

Leave a comment