Book Review: The Liar by Nora Roberts

The Liar

The Liar by Nora Roberts

My rating: ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

  • Print Length: 514 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (April 14, 2015
  • Publication Date: April 14, 2015
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00O2BKKZS


  • This Romantic Suspense by Nora Roberts reminds me how much I enjoy her suspenseful storytelling. Her characters have humor, personalities, and wonderful charm. This book is about a southern woman that has recently lost her husband in a boating accident. It is not long after the death that she begins to find out discrepancies in what his life. Missing money, secret procedures, and even a few more unusual revelations.

    The story grabbed me and left me impatient to read more about the confusing and potentially dangerous life of Shelby Foxworth. After she finds out that things are not as they seemed with him she returns to Tennessee. Back to her parents and siblings. It​ is not long after she arrives that she finds a contractor, Griffen. He keeps showing up around town. She is drawn to him and he is intent on making her notice him.

    Danger starts to rear its ugly head and people start being hurt. People start showing up with more tales of Richard, or whatever his real name is. There are several she has proof of. Then even more names crop up. There are allegations of his conduct that is even more hard to imagine. Shelby is just trying to take care of herself and her little girl. She is focused on getting rid of the debt his death left her accountable for. It is a huge financial headache. Then there are threats and more revelations force Shelby to re-evaluate her entire position in life. She has a daughter that she must keep safe. The book balances her willingness to help find out the troubling secrets and protect herself and her daughter.

    Griff is a great character. Griff is truly the stuff heroes are made of. A construction worker that loves what he does. He is very talented in refurbishing and creating masterpieces in the local homes. He finds himself wanting to make a commitment too fast and he can’t help himself. Griff is a friend of Forest, Shelby’s brother and he gets caught up in the police work. Something he never expected to happen. Forest, is a wonderful character too. He is loving to his sister even though he was angry at her for years because of her actions. that interaction was quite funny. There were many cleverly funny scenes. I love when Nora adds in humor. She does it so well.

    There are so many full bodied side characters and they add to the story one layer at a time until you feel a part of this town.

    The writing of the southern people in town is perfection. The little sayings and the actions of beauty queen runner-up​. These people could live in any southern town in several states. It is really fun to see the way the family interacts. It is really a great story. This is one of my favorite books by Nora Roberts. She knows exactly how to say things.

    The Liar can be purchased in Kindle. Hardcover, Paperback, and Audio Book format by clicking one of the links below.

    14 thoughts on “Book Review: The Liar by Nora Roberts

      1. It is on Audible. I have a link to the audiobook.I’ll bet listening to it would be wonderful. Nora always picks great narrators. I would love to author that many books. I just want to get the 3 I have going out lol ❤

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I can’t remember the titles I read, but it was 15 years ago. Kudos to you on all your projects. I imagine a future conversation, someone says, – oh, I love to read Sojoiner’s novels while I travel. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

      1. I love Nora so much. She is one of my most read authors listed on Goodreads, at 45 books by her. I love her romantic Suspense. they are always so well crafted. I do not recognize that title. I will have to check it out!

        Liked by 1 person

    Leave a comment